Previous  bell    Next
bell Warning: JavaScript is turned off! Some features on this website will not work without it.

Millions of Users Information Exposed Due to Facebook Glitch or Bug

A glitch or bug, reported to Facebook's "White Hat" security team, has caused approximately 6 million Facebook users' personal information to be shared with other Facebook users who they may have some form of connection or relationship with. The glitch or bug was caused by the way Facebook handles the uploading of their users' contact lists or address books to Facebook.
Millions of Users Information Exposed Due to Facebook Glitch or Bug
Online Threat Alerts

Millions of Users Information Exposed Due to Facebook Glitch or Bug


Rating - Thumb up Rating - Thumb down 0   
Millions of Users Information Exposed Due to Facebook Glitch or Bug

A glitch or bug, reported to Facebook's "White Hat" security team, has caused approximately 6 million Facebook users' personal information to be shared with other Facebook users who they may have some form of connection or relationship with. The glitch or bug was caused by the way Facebook handles the uploading of their users' contact lists or address books to Facebook.

Please continue reading below.

What Caused the Glitch?

When someone uploads his/her contact list or address book to Facebook, Facebook tries to match the information in the contact list or address book to other people on Facebook in order to generate “friend recommendations”.

The “friend recommendations” is a list of users that you see on the right side of your Facebook account that Facebook asks if you want to add as friends.

It is this "friend recommendations" that inadvertently stored the contact list or address book information for other Facebook users that the owner of the contact list or address book has some form of connection or relationship with.

If the persons who this information were inadvertently stored to their accounts, use the Facebook Download Your Information (DYI) tool to download an archive of their Facebook accounts, they may end up with additional email addresses or telephone numbers of other Facebook users who they have some form of connection or relationship with.

Facebook have since fixed the glitch and enabled the Download Your Information (DYI) tool that was disabled because of the glitch.

Facebook claims that they have no evidence that this glitch has been exploited maliciously and have not received any complaints from users.

For more information about this glitch, click here.

Remember to leave your question or comment, and read the ones made by others below. And, please report malicious, phishing or scam email messages, social media posts and websites to us. You may click here to contact us, or forward the email messages to: info@onlinethreatalerts.com .

Alert and help your family and friends by sharing this article with them:
Submit Your Comment or Question

Submit your comment or question in the box below to share what you know or to get answers about this article.

CommentComments or Questions (0)