Previous  bell    Next
bell Warning: JavaScript is turned off! Some features on this website will not work without it.

Phishing Scam - Confirm your BT Account Information

The email message below: "Confirm your BT account information," is a phishing scam and was not sent by BT. The scam was designed to steal BT users' username and password, by attempting to trick them into opening the attached phishing HTML form and entering their BT username, password and account information on it, which will be sent to the cyber-criminals behind it.
Phishing Scam - Confirm your BT Account Information
Online Threat Alerts

Phishing Scam - Confirm your BT Account Information


Rating - Thumb up Rating - Thumb down 0   
Phishing Scam - Confirm your BT Account Information

The email message below: "Confirm your BT account information," is a phishing scam and was not sent by BT. The scam was designed to steal BT users' username and password, by attempting to trick them into opening the attached phishing HTML form and entering their BT username, password and account information on it, which will be sent to the cyber-criminals behind it.

Please continue reading below.

The BT Group Phishing Scam

Subject: Confirm your BT account information.

Dear,

This e-mail has been sent to you to inform you that we were unable to confirm your BT account information.

This might be due to a recent change in your personal information. (eg: billing address, phone).

The secure way to confirm your account information:

1. Download the attached Document..

2. Follow the instructions to Confirm you account information..

You might need your BT account number for this you'll find it at the top of your bill. We'll send you a confirmation email once your account information verified.

Thanks for choosing BT,

Libby Barr

Managing Director, BT Sales and Service

Do not open the attachment or follow the instructions in the email message. If you receive any email message like the one above, please go directly to BT's website and sign into your account from there. If there is anything wrong with your BT account it will be shown to you after signing into your account.

The email message contains an attachment, which is a phishing BT HTML form that will send your BT username and password to the cybercriminals behind the scam, if you enter your information on the same form and submit it.

Never click on a link in an email message to sign or log into your BT account, and always look at your web browser's address bar to ensure that you are on amazon's website and not some other fake or phishing website.

If you have already submitted your information on the fake BT form, please change your BT password immediately, because with your BT's username and password, these scammers will hijack your account.

Remember to leave your comment and read the ones made by others below. And, please report malicious, phishing or scam email messages, social media posts and websites to us. You may click here to contact us, or forward the email messages to: info@onlinethreatalerts.com .

Alert and help your family and friends by sharing this article with them:
Submit Your Comment or Question

Submit your comment or question in the box below to share what you know or to get answers about this article.

CommentComments or Questions (1)