May 26, 2016
The email message below with the subject: "Final Warning: Outlook Warning Against Account Closure," which claims that the recipients should update their Microsoft accounts to Outlook 2016, or else they will not be able to send or receive e-mails, is a phishing scam. The fake email message is being sent by cybercriminals to trick Microsoft Outlook account users into sending them their account credentials, by asking them to click on a link in the same email message that goes a phishing Microsoft Outlook website. The phishing website, which looks exactly like Microsoft Outlook' sign-in page, will ask potential victims to sign-in with their Outlook or Microsoft accounts’ credential, but once the information is submitted, it will be sent to the cybercriminals responsible for the fake website. The cybercriminals will then use the information to hijack their victims’ Microsoft Outlook accounts and use them fraudulently.
Please continue reading below.