Profile Peekers Facebook Application SCAM
July 16, 2012 11:15 PM
A Facebook Application scam which was reported a few years ago, has resurfaced. The application posted itself on my Facebook Wall from my friend's account, last night. The application is called Profile Peekers, which claims to allow you to view who is stalking you and how many times your Facebook Profile has been viewed. Currently, this is not possible on Facebook, so please do not be fooled by this fake application.
This is how the fake Profile Peekers Facebook Application works.
Once a Facebook user gives this application access to their profile, it will try to spread like a virus by sending notifications to that user's Facebook friends.
It will send or post the following message: "Check out who looks in your profile??"
Profile Peekers sending a notification to another user.
In order for this application to gain access your profile, you will have to give it permission by clicking the "Allow" button on the "Request for Permission" page. Please deny any request from this application by clicking the "Dont Allow" button.
Help Facebook remove this malicious application by reporting it. Click the "Report App" link that appears on the Facebook Post /Timeline generated by this application.
Here are instructions for removing the Profile Peekers Facebook Application from your account:
Click the down arrow at the top right corner of the blue Facebook menu bar; next to the "Home" button.
Click on "Account Settings"
On the left side of the page, click "Apps"
Locate Profile Peekers in the list of applications and click the "X" on the right to remove it.
For more information about deleting an application from your Facebook account, click here.
Remember to leave your comment and read the ones made by others below.
Click the following thumb up or down, if you like or dislike this alert:
Your feedback is important to us! We invite you to share any information that you have on this article by telling us what you know or ask a question regarding this article, by leaving a comment in the box below.
We will not send a response to your email address, so do not post your email address in your comment. All response will be posted in the comment section below, to be shared with everyone.
Please read the comments made below (if there are any) before posting yours. Someone may have already posted the same comment or question. Duplicate comment or question will be removed.