A Facebook Application scam which was reported a few years ago, has resurfaced. The application posted itself on my Facebook Wall from my friend's account, last night. The application is called Profile Peekers, which claims to allow you to view who is stalking you and how many times your Facebook Profile has been viewed. Currently, this is not possible on Facebook, so please do not be fooled by this fake application.
Please continue reading below.
Once a Facebook user gives this application access to their profile, it will try to spread like a virus by sending notifications to that user's Facebook friends.
It will send or post the following message: "Check out who looks in your profile??"
In order for this application to gain access your profile, you will have to give it permission by clicking the "Allow" button on the "Request for Permission" page. Please deny any request from this application by clicking the "Dont Allow" button.
Help Facebook remove this malicious application by reporting it. Click the "Report App" link that appears on the Facebook Post /Timeline generated by this application.
For more information about deleting an application from your Facebook account, click here.
Please share with us what you know or ask a question about this article, by leaving a comment below. And, forward malicious email messages to us using the following email address: email@example.com .
Tell us if you LIKE this article by clicking the following thumbs-up, or click the thumbs-down if you dislike it:
Submit your comment or question in the box below to share what you know or to get answers about this article.