Warning! JavaScript is turned off or disabled! Some features on this website will not work.
« »
»
Advertisements

Paypal Account Personal Records Update Scam Email

2014-02-20T03:41:40  +
Paypal Account Personal Records Update Scam Email

Paypal customers be careful, especially if you are receiving e-mails claiming to be from Paypal, asking to update or verify your information. Scammers are using the e-mail below to redirect their victims to a fake Paypal login page, so that they (scammers) can steal their victims' usernames and passwords.

Please continue reading below.

Advertisements

How the scam works?

The victim is sent an e-mail message (see below), which looks and appears as if it was sent from Paypal, asking to update their information or their account will be suspended.

If the victim clicks on any of the links in the e-mail message, he/she will be redirected to a fake Paypal login page. This page looks exactly like the legit Paypal login page. If the victim enters his/her username and password, it will be sent to the scammers.

With the victim's login information, these scammers can login to their Paypal account and transfer money from your account or use it to carry out other malicious activities.

Here is the fake Paypal e-mail message:

Dear PayPal Customer,

It has come to our attention that your PayPal account information needs to be updated as part of our continuing commitment to protect your account and to reduce the instance of fraud on our website. If you could take 5-10 minutes out of your online experience and update your personal records you will not run into any future problems with the online service.

However, failure to update your records will result in account suspension.

Once you have updated your account records, your PayPal session will not be interrupted and will continue as normal.

To login to your PayPal account and update your records click on the following link:

The PayPal Team

>

Fake Paypal login page

Paypal Account Personal Records Update Scam Email

Please continue reading below.

Advertisements

Please share with us what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Also, check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any.

Remember to forward suspicious, malicious, or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: info@onlinethreatalerts.com

Also, report scams, untrustworthy, or fraudulent websites to us. Tell us why you consider the websites untrustworthy or fraudulent.

If you want to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search engine.

Comments, Questions and Reviews ✍
(Total: 4)

To help protect your privacy, please do not post or remove, your full name, telephone number, email address, username, password, account number, credit card information, home address or other sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews.

↓ Show More of the 4 Comments ↓

Write Your Comment, Question or Review

Write your comment, question or review in the box below to share what you know or to get answers. Please revisit after an hour or more to view reponses or answers to you questions.

Your comment, question or review will be posted as an anonymous user because you are not signed in. Sign-in.


The comments or reviews below do not necessarily reflect the views of Online Threat Alerts.

  • Posted: 2016-01-31T10:45:26 by an anonymous user from or near: Lawrence, Kansas, United States

    Here is the text I received:

    -- -- --
    "PayPal
    Update Your Account

    Hello Dear Customer,

    To get back into your ΡayΡal account, you'll need to relog in your account.

    It's easy:
    Click the link below to open a secure browser window.
    You have 2 days from the date of your ΡayΡal restrictions to fully restore your account access through the Resolution Center. If we don't receive the information before this deadline, your account access may be further limited.

    Update Your Account

    PayPal inc.
    © Copyright © 1999-2016 PayPal, Inc. All rights reserved.
    Github Twitter Facebook LinkedIn"

    delete


  • Posted: 2014-10-22T08:52:27 by an anonymous user from or near: Blackstone, Massachusetts, United States

    I got an Email that was disguised as a paypal email from tcd10869@jjackerman.com with the subject "Update the account status".

    The following was the text of the email:
    --- ---
    "??u? ?????l ????unt n??d? ?ou? h?l?
    ??ll? D??? ?u?t?m??!
    ?l???? h?l? u? t? ???ng ??u? ?????l ???ount ???? ?n o?der.
    Unt?l th?n, w? h??? tem??????l? ?e?tr??ted ??ur ?????l ???ount ???e?s.
    Wh??? ?? th? ????lem?
    W? w?nt ??u t? ?onf??m ?om? of ?ou? ???ount ?nfo?m?t?on.
    Wh?t d? I d? now?

    L?g ?n t? ?ou? ?????l ???ount ?nd g? t? ?ou?
    ??nfl??t ????lut?on ??g?. ?h??? ??u ??n ??e wh?t ?nf??m?t?on e???tl?
    w? n??d f??m ??u to ?u?m?t . ?nd ??u ??n ??? ?t ? gl?n??,
    th?t ??u ??n ?t?ll u?? th? fun?t??ns of ?ou? ?????l ???ount .
    W? w??h ??u ? l?t of ?ho???ng fun w?th ?????l ???m?nts !
    L?n? d??? n?t wo??? ?o?? ?nd ???t? th? l?n? ?elow ?nto the ?dd?ess ??? of ?our ?rowser:
    http://myaccount.webscr.id.4cpsi.ssl.ppl3usx.com/us/?e=YnJpZ2h0aG9yaXpvbnNAdXNhLmNvbQ=="

    ??????ght <©> 2014 ?????l. ?ll ??ght? ???????d.
    --- ---

    I thought this was real for a minute because I have been using paypal recently. But when I went on the site I noticed it wanted ALL my financial information, SSN everything. and I couldn't click on any of the paypal things I should be able to.

    delete


  • Posted: 2012-10-28T22:44:13 by info

    Change your PayPal password and report this to Paypal immediately. Click here to contact them

    delete


  • Posted: 2012-10-26T23:46:19 by an anonymous user from or near: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, United States

    I am scared to death as I did fill out all the personal info ALL and hit send . the warning came from google that it was a phishing site and told me to go back. I did and then erased it all.
    For a moment before the warning there was a moment when the screen went blank.
    I don't know if I caught in time or if all my info was stolen.

    If warning came up does that mean it blocked it or is it all out there?

    help!!!!

    delete