Warning! JavaScript is turned off or disabled! Some features on this website will not work.
Alerts left arrow right arrow   

Beware of Dropbox Phishing Email Scams

Comments  +
Beware of Dropbox Phishing Email Scams

Cybercriminals are sending out fake and malicious Dropbox email messages like the one below, which claims the senders are attempting to send documents to the recipients, but the documents are too large or there are multiple copies of the documents, so the senders used file hosting or storage website, Dropbox, to share the documents. The fake email messages then state that the recipients should click on a link within the same email messages in order to view the same documents. But, the links go to a fake or phishing Dropbox website, where the recipients will be asked to sign-in with their Google, Hotmail, Yahoo, AOL or other email providers’ username and password.

Please continue below.

A Sample of the Dropbox Phishing Email

From: Emily Cline ecline3@elon .edu
Date: February 29, 2016 at 10:40:09 AM EST
To: undisclosed-recipients:;
Subject: Document for record


I'm trying to send you documents through attachment, but it is multiple, so i had to use Drop-box to shared.

Please view [documents] and keep file for your record.

View document
Emily Cline

Recipients of the fake Dropbox email messages, who have already clicked on the link within the same email messages and have entered their usernames and passwords on the fake or phishing Dropbox website, should change their passwords immediately before their email accounts are hijacked by the cybercriminals who are responsible for the fake or phishing Dropbox email messages.

And, Dropbox’s website is located at https://www.dropbox.com/, so recipients of Dropbox email messages, should ensure that they are not taken other websites. If they are, someone is attempting to trick them into visiting a fake Dropbox website, with the intention of stealing their accounts’ username and password.

Please share with us what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Also, check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any.

Remember to forward malicious or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: info@onlinethreatalerts.com

Share this on:

and/or ContributionDonate

Would you recommend this article to a friend or family member?
Yes (1) No (0)   

Comments, Questions and Reviews
Comment(Total: 4)

To help protect your privacy, please do not post your full name, telephone number, email address, username, password, account number, credit card information or home address in your comments, questions, or reviews.

Write a Comment, Review, or ask a Question or scroll down to view comments, reviews and questions made by others.

The comments or reviews below do not necessarily reflect the views of Online Threat Alerts.

  • Posted: Nov 28, 2017 by info

    Here is another scam:

    "From: Messaging Center [mailto:dfrfgefge@theisenvending.com]
    Sent: Tuesday, November 28, 2017 1:08 PM
    Subject: Updated Dropbox Document Received- (Scanned_Invoice710217.pdf)

    Dropbox Notification Center
    New Document Received
    You've Received a New Document from Your Colleague 15 minutes ago.


    Happy Sharing!"


  • Posted: Nov 13, 2017 by info

    Here is another scam:

    "PHILLIP LESLEY, Shared a file with you via Dropbox
    Mon 13/11/2017 12:50

    PHILLIP LESLEY, Shared a file with you.


    Happy Dropboxing!
    - The Dropbox Team"


  • Posted: May 11, 2017 by info

    Here is another scam:

    --Original Message--
    From: lismoor <lismoor@aol.com>
    Sent: Wed, May 10, 2017 9:18 am
    Subject: Document


    has shared a document with you using Dropbox business.
    View shared document:


    MORE ABOUT DROP BOX: (Dropbox business was created to work better, faster and more safely).
    Log in from anywhere and at any time
    Online and offline access to the desktop, Web and mobile devices
    Windows, Android, iOS, Mac and Linux
    Any files, of any size: Word, PDF and more
    Folders to share for a collaboration extended to the whole team
    Links are easy to use to send any type of file
    Password and deadlines for shared files
    - The team of Dropbox for Business


    Lis ;-)"


  • Posted: Jan 10, 2017 by info

    Here is another scam:

    "Date: Tue, Jan 10, 2017 at 5:40 PM
    Subject: Document-1828734342


    Kindly see attached document for your review.



Submit Comment Write Your Comment, Question or Review

Write your comment, question or review in the box below to share what you know or to get answers. Please revisit after an hour or more to view reponses or answers to you questions.
All comments, questions or reviews will be examined for derogatory or indecent statements, spam or malicous code, before they are posted on this website.