Alerts left arrow right arrow   

Beware of Facebook "Mentioned You in a Comment" Malicious Message Notifications

Comments  +
Beware of Facebook "Mentioned You in a Comment" Malicious Message Notifications

Facebook users are advised to delete message notifications that appear to have been sent by friends, claiming to have mentioned them in a comment on Facebook. This is because the message notifications are fakes and are malicious. The malicious messages have links, when clicked, will download and infect the victims’ computers or devices with a virus, spyware or some other malware. The infected computers or devices will hijack the victims’ Facebook accounts and use them to send the same fake and malicious message to their friends, in an attempt to infect their computers or devices.

Infected computer or devices can be used to send phishing messages to the owners’ Facebook friends, which will steal their online account credentials, personal and financial information.

Note: users of Android and iOS mobile devices are immune since the malware used libraries which are not compatible with these mobile operating systems.

Kaspersky Lab, a software security group that discovered the threat, recommends that online users who think that they may have been infected, to run a malware scan on their computers, or open their Chrome web browser and look for unexpected extensions. If there are unexpected extensions present, they should log out of their Facebook accounts, close the browser and disconnect the network cable from their computers, and get a professional to check for and clean away the malware.

They also advise online users to follow the basic cyber-safety practices:

  • Install an antimalware solution on all devices and keep OS software up-to-date.
  • Avoid clicking on links in messages from people you don’t know, or in unexpected messages from friends.
  • Exercise caution at all times when online and on social media networks: if something looks even slightly suspicious, it probably is.
  • Implement appropriate privacy settings on social media networks such as Facebook.

Please share with us what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Also, check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any.

Remember to forward malicious or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: info@onlinethreatalerts.com

Comments, Questions and Reviews

Comment(Total: 0)

Write a Comment, Review, or ask a Question or scroll down to view comments, reviews and questions made by others.

Would you recommend this article to a friend or family member?
Yes (2) No (0)   

Submit Comment Write Your Comment, Question or Review

Write your comment, question or review in the box below to share what you know or to get answers. Please revisit after an hour or more to view reponses or answers to you questions.
All comments, questions or reviews will be examined for derogatory or indecent statements, spam or malicous code, before they are posted on this website.


More for you:
Warning! JavaScript is turned off or disabled! Some features on this website will not work.