Fake Windows Live Login Page At softmisc.com

Fake Windows Live Login Page At softmisc.com

Would you share this article with someone to help inform him/her?

There is a malicious e-mail message claiming that Hotmail is carrying out a software upgrade and that you need to upgrade your account. Please do not click on any of the links in this e-mail message because, it is a trick that scammers are using to steal Hotmail / Windows Live users login information.

Please continue reading below.

If you click on any of the links in this e-mail message, you will be taken to this website softmisc.com, which has a fake Windows Live / Hotmail login page.

Fake Windows Live / Hotmail Login Page at softmisc.com

If you enter your Windows Live / Hotmail username and password on this fake page, it will be sent to the scammers.

With your e-mail login, these scammers will be able to gain access to your account.

If you were tricked by these scammers into signing onto the fake login page, please change your Windows Live / Hotmail password immediately.

A Copy of the Malicious E-mail

From E-mail Address: Windows Live
Subject: Account Verification

Hotmail is carrying out a software upgrade for maximum user convenience.
New Enhanced Security Update
Kindly upgrade your account by clicking the link below.

Note: Some of the names, addresses, email addresses and telephone numbers in email samples on this website may have been impersonated.

Please share what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Also, check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any.

Remember to forward suspicious, malicious, or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: info@onlinethreatalerts.com

Also, report missing persons, scams, untrustworthy, or fraudulent websites to us. Tell us why you consider the websites untrustworthy or fraudulent.

If you want to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search engine.

Comments, Questions, Answers, or Reviews
(Total: 7)

To help protect your privacy, please do not post or remove, your full name, telephone number, email address, username, password, account number, credit card information, home address or other sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews. And, when you post a comment or review, we will use your IP address to display your approximate location to other users.

Please continue reading below.

The comments or reviews below do not necessarily reflect the views of Online Threat Alerts.

  • May 11, 2018 at 8:32 AM by an anonymous user from Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

    My hotmail sign in page after clicking on the initial page with the blue "sign in" button opens a new page BUT the URL at the end seems like a scammer Hotmail URL because it says, "false & cobranded 90015"-- Is this the case?


    • May 11, 2018 at 10:07 AM by info

      Not sure what you are experiencing, but always go directly to www.hotmail.com to sign into your account.


      • May 11, 2018 at 10:51 AM by an anonymous user from Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

        To clarify, logging into live.com or hotmail.com at first seems legit, after clicking on the blue "sign in" button a second page opens with a different URL ending with: "false&cobranded 90015" and, typically, on this page is BOTH a window where the user types in their email address AND password, HOWEVER, there is only one window, not two to type in email and then, a blue button to click to continue to a third page, where there is a window for the user to type in a password.

        The word URL ending coupled with the multiple pages for email access and password is NOT what I normally see, thus, I sense this is a scammer/fake hotmail.com/live.com email page.

        Can some people confirm this has also happened to them and whether it is legit or a scammer/fake Hotmail/live login page?


        • May 11, 2018 at 11:09 AM by info

          You may have some malicious program, toolbar or extension on your device. Please send screenshots to us at info@onlinethreatalerts.com to further research.


          • May 11, 2018 at 12:13 PM by an anonymous user from Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

            Yeah I agree. What do I need to do, to get rid of malicious program and/or toolbar/toolbar extension?


            • May 11, 2018 at 12:25 PM by info

              Try a program called Adaware or Avast Browser Cleanup.


              • May 12, 2018 at 12:49 AM by an anonymous user from Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

                Thanks for your help!


 Show More Comments (7)
Write Your Comment, Question, Answer, or Review
Write your comment, question or review in the box below to share what you know or to get answers. Please revisit after an hour or more to view reponses or answers to you questions.

Your comment, question or review will be posted as an anonymous user because you are not signed in. Sign-in.