Warning! JavaScript is turned off or disabled! Some features on this website will not work.
« »
»

PayPal Phishing Scam - "Latest Account Notification"

2014-12-08T11:15:59  +
PayPal Phishing Scam - "Latest Account Notification"

PayPal users, the email message below: "Latest Account Notification," is a fake and a phishing scam. The email message claims that the recipients' accounts will be limited unless they update their account information by filling out the attached form. But, the email message was not sent by PayPal, and is only a scam created by scammers to steal the recipients' PayPal username, password, credit card and personal information, which they(scammers) will use to hijack their accounts.

Please continue reading below.

The PayPal Phishing Email Scam

From: PayPal [mailto:accounts @ppservices.com]
Subject: Latest Account Notification

This email will be brief. We would appreciate your prompt attention to this matter.

PayPal is constantly working to ensure security by regularly screening the accounts in our system. We recently reviewed your account and made adjustments resulting in the following changes.

Unfortunately, access to your account has been limited.

These are the steps required to restore your account access:

- Download the attachment from this email
- Open the attachment with your web browser (Option: Internet Explorer)
- Fill in the required details

Should access to your account remain limited for an extended period of time, it may result in further limitations on the use of your account or may result in eventual account closure.

Sincerely,
PayPal Account Review Team

The attached form will ask the potential victims for the following information, which will be sent to the cyber-criminals behind the phishing and fake PayPal email message:

Personal Informati​on Profile

  • Card Holder Name:
  • Date of Birth
  • Mother's Maiden Name
  • Social Security Number
  • Home Phone Number

Home Addr​ess Profile

  • Address Line 1
  • Address Line 2
  • City
  • State
  • Zip Code
  • Country

Credit/Debit ​Card Profile

  • Card Number
  • Expiration Date
  • Card Verification Number

Any information entered on the attached form, will be sent to the cyber-criminals behind the scam. Once they have the victims' PayPal credentials, they use it to hijack their accounts and use it for fraudulent purposes. This includes stealing money from their accounts and using their PayPal and credit card to make fraudulent purchases.

If you have already entered your PayPal user name,password and credit card information on the fake form, please change your PayPal password and contact your bank immediately.

To avoid getting tricked by these phishing scams, never click on a link in an email message to sign into your PayPal account. Always go to www.paypal.com and sign into your account from there. PayPal will display important messages or notifications to you once you have signed into your account.

This PayPal phishing scam is similar to the following:

Please share what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Also, check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any.

Remember to forward suspicious, malicious, or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: info@onlinethreatalerts.com

Also, report scams, untrustworthy, or fraudulent websites to us. Tell us why you consider the websites untrustworthy or fraudulent.

If you want to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search engine.

Remember to help us, help you, by donating. 🎁Click here to donate

Please continue reading below.

Comments, Questions and Reviews ✍
(Total: 0)

To help protect your privacy, please do not post or remove, your full name, telephone number, email address, username, password, account number, credit card information, home address or other sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews.

Show More of the 0 Comments

Write Your Comment, Question or Review

Write your comment, question or review in the box below to share what you know or to get answers. Please revisit after an hour or more to view reponses or answers to you questions.

Your comment, question or review will be posted as an anonymous user because you are not signed in. Sign-in.