No internet connection

No Internet Connection Detected

Dangerous Apps Found in the Google Play Store Contain the Brain Test, Shedun, ShiftyBug and Shuanet Malware

Google has removed the 13 dangerous auto-rooting adware applications (apps) below from their Play Store that are a part of the Brain Test, Shedun, ShiftyBug and Shuanet family of malware. The 13 malicious apps, which have already been downloaded by thousands of users around the world, will check if the mobile device they are running on have been rooted, and if the devices are, will attempt to gain root privileges or access to them. Rooting is the process of allowing users of smartphones, tablets and other devices running the Android mobile operating system to attain privileged control (known as root access). Once the apps have gained root privileges or access, they will copy themselves to the system partition of the Android operating system where system applications are stored, which will make them virtual impossible to remove, even if a Factory Reset is done or the "Uninstall" option in the Android operating system is used. The developers of the malicious apps trick their potential victims into downloading and installing them, by hiding them in full functioning games that are fun to play.

Dangerous Apps Found in the Google Play Store Contain the Brain Test, Shedun, ShiftyBug and Shuanet Malware
Advertisement

The 13 Dangerous Apps That Were Removed From the Google Play Store

  • Cake Blast (com.zhtt.cakeblast)
  • Jump Planet (com.galaxy.jumpplanet)
  • Honey Comb (com.sweet.honeycomb)
  • Crazy Block (com.crazy.block)
  • Crazy Jelly (com.crazy.sugar)
  • Tiny Puzzle (com.dot.tinypuzzle)
  • Ninja Hook (com.sunshine.ninja)
  • Piggy Jump (com.stupid.piggyjump)
  • Just Fire (com.tomtom.justfire)
  • Eat Bubble (com.fine.eatbubble)
  • Hit Planet (com.smile.hitplanet)
  • Cake Tower (com.beautiful.caketower)
  • Drag Box (com.block.dragbox)

The malicious apps can allow the developers access to the mobile devices that they are running on, which will allow the developers (cyber-criminals) to use the mobile devices fraudulently.

Android users should check their mobile devices for the list of malicious apps above and attempt to remove them. For those Android users who are unable to remove the malicious apps after doing a Factory Reset or using the “Uninstalled” option, should know that best alternative to removing the malicious apps, is to reflash the ROM supplied by the mobile device maker.

Android users should ensure that they have a trusted antivirus or anti-malware software on their mobile devices, which will help protect them against malicious apps. Also, they should be cautious when downloading apps from the Google Play Store, even if the apps that they want to download have good reviews or high ratings.

Check the comment section below for additional information, share what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. And, to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search Search engine.

Click here help maintain Online Threat Alerts (OTA).

Note: Some of the information in samples on this website may have been impersonated or spoofed.
Would you share this article with others?  +

Comments, Questions, Answers, or Reviews

Comments (Total: 2)

To protect your privacy, please do not post or remove sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews.
Advertisement

The comments, reviews or answers below do not necessarily reflect the views of Online Threat Alerts (OTA).

  • January 23, 2016 at 2:34 AM by an anonymous user from: Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom

    Kk browser also done this to my android 5.1 lenovo phone.

    • January 26, 2016 at 3:31 AM by DarkAngelDani from: Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom

      Have you already installed a lot of apps? It's possible something you installed also caused this automatic installation. But it's also possible that Lenovo has some preinstalled bloatware that does this automatically as well. The easiest thing to do would probably be to do a full factory reset.

      After getting through the Setup Wizard again, go immediately to Google Play Store and stop any apps that might be automatically installing. Now see if KKBrowser is there. If it's there, then it's a preinstalled app that perhaps you didn't notice at first. If it's not there, then see if it installs automatically again-if it does, then it's likely due to some preinstalled Lenovo bloatware, because the factory reset would have cleared out any malware.

      Go to Settings>Apps>All​, and look for that "Device Management" app there.

Comments Show More Comments (1)

Write Your Comment, Question, Answer, or Review

NB: We will use your IP address to display your approximate location to other users.

Your post will be set as an anonymous because you are not signed in. Anonymous posts cannot be edited or deleted. Sign-in.

Recommendations / Ads
Dangerous Apps Found in the Google Play Store Contain the Brain Test, Shedun, ShiftyBug and Shuanet Malware