Online Threat Alerts (OTA) - Alerting you to scams and frauds.

PayPal Phishing Scam - "Your Account Has Been Locked - Please Click on the Link below to Restore"
PayPal Phishing Scam - Your Account Has Been Locked - Please Click on the Link below to Restore

PayPal users who have received the following message: "PayPal - Your account has been locked Please click on the link below to restore your access," should delete it. The message is a phishing scam, sent by cyber-criminals to trick PayPal users into visiting a fake PayPal where their account credentials (usernames and passwords) will be stolen by the same cyber-criminals. The cyber-criminals will then use the stolen credentials to hijack their victims’ PayPal accounts and use the accounts fraudulently.

The Phishing PayPal Message

PayPal - Your account has been locked Please click on the link below to restore your access:

http://upaypal.co.uk

The link in the fake message goes to the following fake PayPal website: upaypal.co .uk. Once on the website, potential victims will be asked to sign-in, but any attempt to sign-in, will send their PayPal accounts credentials to the cyber-criminals who created the fake website.

PayPal users, who were tricked by the phishing scam, should change their passwords immediately and check their accounts for discrepancies, and report those discrepancies (if there is any) to PayPal.

4

Comment sectionComments / Answers (4)

Remove sensitive information from your post. Your IP address will be used to display your estimated location.

Comment count 4

by an anonymous user from: Ely, England, United Kingdom

This text is doing the rounds again asking you to access hxxps://smsb.co/boiyu to restore your account.

Beware. They really should run their texts through spell check, check them grammatically before sending. School boy error!

Delete


by an anonymous user from: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

Hi, received the following message via a text message from the following number in the UK.
44 7781 470659

"PayPal: Your account has been locked. Please click on the link below to restore your access: http://bit.do/b2RRw"

I deleted the message and then logged in to my PayPal account without any trouble.

It must be a SCAM!

Delete


by info

Yes, it is a scam.

Delete


by info

Here is another scam:

"Hi, received the following message via a text message from the following number in the UK.
44 7781 470659

PayPal: Your account has been locked. Please click on the link below to restore your access: http://bit .do/b2RRF"

Delete



waiting