Therefore, recipients of the fake email message (see sample below) should delete it and not follow the instructions in it. And, Gmail or Google users should never click on a link to sign into their accounts, they should instead, go directly to www.gmail.com and sign-in from there. And, if something is wrong with their accounts, they will be notified after signing in. Doing this will prevent Google users from visiting fake Gmail or Google websites that steal account credentials, personal and financial information.
The "Google has Decided to Close your Account" Phishing Email
Dear Email Client,
In line with the Gmail's policy and pursuant to the terms and conditions of the account accepted by you, in accordance with applicable rules and regulations, We are reviewing all our accounts and pursuant to the review, Google may take extra decision to close certain accounts.
Therefore, Google has decided to close your account. If you still want to maintain your account with us, find in the attached our account review and update instruction. This is valid for 72-Hours
In case we don't hear from you within the above stated time period, Google will proceed to close your account after 30 days from the date of this notice. All the contents of your account will be permanently deleted.
This email can't receive replies. For more information, visit the Google Accounts Help Centre.