Warning! JavaScript is turned off or disabled! Some features on this website will not work.
« »
»

Beware of "My Private Video," "My First Video," "My Video," and "18+ Video" Malicious Posts

2016-04-20T14:45:13 -  +
Beware of "My Private Video," "My First Video," "My Video," and "18+ Video" Malicious Posts

Online users, especially Facebook users, are asked to be aware of messages or posts that appear to have videos with the following titles: "My First Video," "My Video," "Private Video," or "18+ Video." The fake messages or posts are being sent by cybercriminals to trick their potential victims into clicking on them, which have links that go to fake and malicious YouTube websites. On the fake and malicious YouTube websites, potential victims will be asked to install software like web browser plugins or extensions in order to view the so-called videos on the same websites.

Advertisements

But, there are no videos, and the software plugins or extensions that the fake and malicious YouTube websites ask potential victims to install, are malicious. The malicious software will infect the potential victims’ computers or mobile devices with a virus, Trojan horse, spyware, ransomware, malicious browser extensions, or some other malware that cybercriminals use to gain remote access to, or hijack their victims’ computers, mobile devices, or social media accounts.

Online users should never click on the fake messages or posts, even if they appear to have been sent by trusted friends. This is because cybercriminals are able to send the fake messages or posts from cloned, hacked or hijacked social media accounts, to the friends of the owners of those accounts. This will make the fake messages or posts appear to the recipients as if they were sent from friends. And, this is why not all messages or posts that appear to have been sent by trusted friends are safe, and were actually sent by them.

Now, once cybercriminals are able to take unauthorized control of, or hijack their potential victims' computers or devices, they will steal the victims' online accounts credentials, financial or personal information. They may also use the hijacked computers and devices to commit cybercrimes that will be traced back to the owners.

One popular and malicious web browser extension that is being used by cybercriminals is the “Make a GIF” Google Chrome extension. Cybercriminals or scammers are using the following message to trick online users into installing malicious web browser extension or software:

“Sorry, if you don’t install Video Play plugin, you will not be able to watch the video! Click ‘Add Extension’ to watch the video”.

How to Remove the Malicious “Make a GIF” Google Chrome Extension

  • Type or enter: “chrome://extensions/” into Chrome’s address bar
  • Click on “More tools”
  • Click on “Extensions”
  • Click on “Make a GIF”
  • Click “Remove from Chrome …”

Online users should never download apps, web browser extensions, or software from websites that they are not familiar with. If in doubt about a website, post, message or software, online users should ask friends, family members, or users on trusted online forums for advice before visiting the website, clicking on the post, following the instructions in the message, or downloading and installing software on their computers or mobile devices.

Online users should know that there are a lot of deceptive messages on both legitimate and fake websites that will tell them that they need to install software plugins, flash players, Adobe player, Java players, video player extensions and other video players to view so-called videos or other media.

Note: deceptive messages on legitimate websites are displayed via malicious online advertisements that the same websites have no control over.

Online users who are using Microsoft Windows and think they are victims of the malicious posts or video scam, should click here to download and install a very popular and powerful free software called AdwCleaner to remove malicious web browser extensions and other malware from their computers. They should also scan their computers with the antivirus or antimalware software that are installed on them.

For users of other operating systems, or mobile devices, it is recommended that they scan their devices and computers with the antivirus or antimalware software that are installed on them.

Please share what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Also, check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any.

Remember to forward suspicious, malicious, or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: info@onlinethreatalerts.com

Also, report missing persons, scams, untrustworthy, or fraudulent websites to us. Tell us why you consider the websites untrustworthy or fraudulent.

If you want to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search engine.

Remember to help us, help you, by donating. 🎁Click here to donate

Advertisements
Comments, Questions and Reviews ✍
(Total: 0)

To help protect your privacy, please do not post or remove, your full name, telephone number, email address, username, password, account number, credit card information, home address or other sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews.

Show More Comments (0)
Write Your Comment, Question or Review
Write your comment, question or review in the box below to share what you know or to get answers. Please revisit after an hour or more to view reponses or answers to you questions.

Your comment, question or review will be posted as an anonymous user because you are not signed in. Sign-in.