Warning! JavaScript is turned off or disabled! Some features on this website will not work.

Renting Your Facebook Account is a Scam

Renting Your Facebook Account is a Scam

Renting your Facebook account is a SCAM. Scammers are using Craigslist and local classified advertisement websites to lure potentials victims into their traps, by posting advertisements on them asking potential victims for access to their Facebook accounts for a fee. The potential victims who fall for the scam and give the scammers access to their Facebook accounts will regret it because the scammers will use the accounts fraudulently. Facebook accounts that are used fraudulently will be terminated or suspended by Facebook, and the illegal activities that the scammers use the accounts for will be traced back to the owners of the accounts, who may end up in jail and may pay thousands of dollars in legal fees to clear their names.

Please continue below.

How does the Scam work?

The scammers will use the Facebook accounts to advertise their scams to millions of Facebook users, using stolen credit cards or hijacked PayPal accounts to make payment. Facebook advertisement is the most effective way for scammers to reach their potential victims. They may also use their victims’ Facebook accounts to send spam and dangerous links to their friends, which go to malicious and phishing websites. And, once the friends see a post or message coming from their friend, they will instantly think the message is legitimate and click on the malicious or phishing links, which will take them to dangerous websites that contain malware. Once on the dangerous website the potential victims may be tricked into downloading fake and malicious software that will infect their computers/devices with viruses or Trojan horse. The potential victims may also be taken to phishing websites, where they may be tricked into submitting their personal information, financial information, or sending money to the scammers.

It is important for Facebook users to remember that they should never lend their Facebook accounts anyone, whether for a fee or not, or give someone access to it. Also, Facebook user should not give their Facebook username and password to anyone, and Facebook users who have done so already should change their passwords immediately.

Please share with us what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Also, check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any.

Remember to forward suspicious, malicious, or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: info@onlinethreatalerts.com

If you want to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search engine.

Comments, Questions and Reviews
(Total: 1)

To help protect your privacy, please do not post or remove your full name, telephone number, email address, username, password, account number, credit card information or home address in your comments, questions, or reviews.

The comments or reviews below do not necessarily reflect the views of Online Threat Alerts.

  • Posted: May 15, 2017 by info

    Here is another scam:

    "Put your top social media account to good use! hide this posting
    compensation: $100 easy money
    We are seeking out users of the top, most popular social media site who would like to earn extra money each week.

    Earn $40 - $130 and we even pay referral fees.

    The qualifications are extremely simple
    Must be a resident in US
    Have an account wit minimum of 100 friends and that is at least one year old
    Must not have run ads through your account

    For quickest and best response, please provide your primary email address and/or phone in your reply. None of your friends will ever be contacted.
    do NOT contact me with unsolicited services or offers"


Show More of the 1 Comments, Questions or Reviews

Write Your Comment, Question or Review

Write your comment, question or review in the box below to share what you know or to get answers. Please revisit after an hour or more to view reponses or answers to you questions.

Your comment, question or review will be posted as an anonymous user because you are not signed in. Sign-in.