»

Beware of "Blocked Sign-in Attempt for Security Reasons" Google Account Phishing Scam

 +
Beware of "Blocked Sign-in Attempt for Security Reasons" Google Account Phishing Scam

Would you share this Article with others?

Cybercriminals are attempting to trick Google users into clicking on links in the fake security alert or notification email message below that informs them of suspicious login attempts. The links go to a phishing website that steals Google account usernames and passwords. The phishing website looks exactly like Google’ own website, which makes it easier to trick most users into following the instructions on it.

Therefore, it is recommended that Google users who have received suspicious security email alerts or notifications, go directly to https://myaccount.google.com and click on “Security Checkup,” to view their security settings and activities.

The Phishing Google Security Email Message

Subject: Blocked sign-in for security reasons

Blocked sign-in attempt for security reasons

Hi,

Google just blocked someone from signing into your Google Account [email address removed] from an app that may put your account at risk. In other to secure your account you have to feel in the form, while your email has already been hidden for security reasons

Blocked sign-in for security reasons

Less secure app

Monday, August 8, 2016 8:47 AM (West Africa Standard Time)

Lagos, Nigeria*

Don't recognize this activity?

If you didn't recently receive an error while trying to access a Google service, from a non-Google application, someone may have your password.

[SECURE YOUR ACCOUNT]

Are you the one who tried signing in?

Google will continue to block sign-in attempts from the app you're using. To continue using this app, you can allow access to less secure apps, but your account may be more vulnerable.

[ALLOW ACCESS]

Best,

The Google Accounts team

Note: Some of the names, addresses, email addresses, telephone numbers or other information in samples on this website may have been impersonated or spoofed.

Please share what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Also, check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any.

Remember to forward suspicious, malicious, or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: info@onlinethreatalerts.com

Also, report missing persons, scams, untrustworthy, or fraudulent websites to us. Tell us why you consider the websites untrustworthy or fraudulent.

If you want to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search engine.

You can help maintain Online Threat Alerts (OTA) by paying a service fee. Click here to make payment.

Comments, Questions, Answers, or Reviews
(Total: 1)

To help protect your privacy, please do not post or remove, your full name, telephone number, email address, username, password, account number, credit card information, home address or other sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews.

The comments or reviews below do not necessarily reflect the views of Online Threat Alerts.

  • October 25, 2017 at 11:58 PM by an anonymous user from Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

    Try disabling [and then removing] legacy apps [add-ons].

    remove

 Show More Comments (1)
Write Your Comment, Question, Answer, or Review
Write your comment, question, answer, or review in the box below to share what you know or to get answers. NB: We will use your IP address to display your approximate location to other users.
Your comment, question, answer, or review will be posted as an anonymous user because you are not signed in. Anonymous posts cannot be edited or deleted. Sign-in.

More on Online Threat Alerts (OTA):
Beware of "Blocked Sign-in Attempt for Security Reasons" Google Account Phishing Scam