"Google Gmail User Account Upgrade Security Notice" Phishing Scam

The fake Google email security notice below, which claims that the recipients should click on a link within it to upgrade to Gmail, in order to secure their accounts, is a phishing scam being sent by cybercriminals. The links in the fake email message go to a phishing website that steals Google account usernames and passwords. The phishing website looks exactly like Google’ own website, which makes it easier to trick Gmail or Google users into believing the fake website is legitimate.

 Google Gmail User Account Upgrade Security Notice Phishing Scam

Therefore, recipients of the fake email message (see sample below) should delete it and not follow the instructions in it. And, Gmail or Google users should never click on a link to sign into their accounts, they should instead, go directly to www.gmail.com and sign-in from there. And, if something is wrong with their accounts, they will be notified after signing in. Doing this will prevent Google users from visiting fake Gmail or Google websites that steal account credentials, personal and financial information.

The "Google Gmail User Account Upgrade" Phishing Scam

From: Account Update

Sent: Tuesday, October 24, 2017 5:29 AM

To: no-reply@accounts.google.com

Subject: GOOGLE EMAIL SECURITY NOTICE

Google

User Account Upgrade

Dear User,

At Google, we take the securit of our account very serioulsy.

To keep using our email services, kindly help us secure your account by updating to our latest Gmail Version [v.4.0.0.1 Build 2016]

Update

Best Regards,

The Google Account Team

Check the comment section below for additional information, share what you know, or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. And, to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search Search engine.

Note: Some of the information in samples on this website may have been impersonated or spoofed.
Was this article helpful?  +
Share this with others:

Comments, Questions, Answers, or Reviews

Comments (Total: 2)

To protect your privacy, please do not post or remove sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews. NB: We will use your IP address to display your approximate location to other users when you make a post. That location is not enough to find you.

Your comment, answer, or review will be set as anonymous because you are not signed in. An anonymous comment, answer, or review cannot be edited or deleted, therefore, review it carefully before posting. Sign-in.

The comments, reviews or answers below do not necessarily reflect the views of Online Threat Alerts (OTA).

  • January 15, 2018 at 11:49 PM by an anonymous user from: Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia

    So if I clicked on the phoney Gmail link, what can I do to stop anything bad from happening?

    • January 16, 2018 at 6:24 AM by info

      Clicking on the link allow will not harm your computer, you will have to download and install some malware or malicious program.

Comments Show More Comments (1)

Write Your Comment, Question, Answer, or Review

"Google Gmail User Account Upgrade Security Notice" Phishing Scam