Warning! JavaScript is turned off or disabled! Some features on this website will not work.
Alerts left arrow right arrow   

Beware of "Microsoft End of Year Upgrade" Phishing Scams

Comments  +
Beware of "Microsoft End of Year Upgrade" Phishing Scams

The fake "Microsoft End of Year" email below, which claim the recipients' email accounts will expire or email address will be disabled if not updated, should delete them. This is because the email messages are phishing scams being sent by cyber criminals to trick the recipients into clicking on the links in them that go to phishing websites that steal email account usernames and passwords.

Please continue below.

The "Microsoft End of Year Upgrade" Phishing Scam

From: USER SERVER <micro--soft05@outlook.com>

Date: November 12, 2017 at 10:51:01 PM PST

Subject: FINAL WARNING:END OF THE YEAR UPGRADE

Your mailbox will expire on NOVEMBER 14TH, 2017

Dear User,

We are currently updating the windows services agreement and privacy statement. Please keep your security information updated. This is for your own safety.

DO NOT IGNORE THIS NOTICE !

UPDATE NOW

NOTE: YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS WILL BE CLOSED IF NOT UPDATED. (UPDATE IS FREE)

Thank you for using our services.

We respect your privacy.

If the links in the phishing email messages are clicked by the recipients, they will be taken to a phishing website and ask to sign-in. If they attempt to do so, their email account credentials (usernames and passwords) will be sent to the cybercriminals behind the scam. Once the cybercriminals have gotten the stolen credentials, they will gain access to the accounts, hijack them, and use them fraudulently.

Therefore, online users who have received email messages with a link to update their information or make changes to their accounts should always go directly to their email account provider's website and sign into their accounts instead of clicking on the link. Once online users have signed into their accounts, they will be noticed of changes or updates, if there are any. Going directly to their email provider's website and signing in from there is the only guaranteed way of preventing online users from becoming victims of phishing scams.

Online users who have already been tricked by the phishing scam are asked change their passwords immediately before their accounts are hijacked and used fraudulently. If their accounts have already been hijacked by cyber criminals they need to contact their email providers for help.

Please share with us what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Also, check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any.

Remember to forward malicious or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: info@onlinethreatalerts.com

Share this on:

and/or ContributionDonate

Would you recommend this article to a friend or family member?
Yes (0) No (0)   

Comments, Questions and Reviews
Comment(Total: 0)

To help protect your privacy, please do not post your full name, telephone number, email address, username, password, account number, credit card information or home address in your comments, questions, or reviews.

Write a Comment, Review, or ask a Question or scroll down to view comments, reviews and questions made by others.

Submit Comment Write Your Comment, Question or Review

Write your comment, question or review in the box below to share what you know or to get answers. Please revisit after an hour or more to view reponses or answers to you questions.
All comments, questions or reviews will be examined for derogatory or indecent statements, spam or malicous code, before they are posted on this website.