Warning! JavaScript is turned off or disabled! Some features on this website will not work.
Alerts left arrow right arrow   

Beware of "AOL Quarantine Database Maintenance Update" Phishing Scam

Comments  +
Beware of "AOL Quarantine Database Maintenance Update" Phishing Scam

AOL users should not follow the instructions in the phishing email message below, which claims their accounts will be closed if they do not update them. The fake AOL email message is being sent by cyber criminals to frighten and trick recipients into clicking on a link within it, which goes to a phishing website. The phishing website steals AOL usernames and passwords, therefore, any attempts to sign into it will result in the visitors' usernames and passwords being sent to the cybercriminals responsible for it. Once the cybercriminals have received the stolen usernames and passwords, they will use it to gain access to the accounts, hijack and use them fraudulently.

Please continue below.

The Phishing AOL Email Message

From: david fisher <auctioneer@cableone.net>

Sent: Tue, Apr 18, 2017 10:27 am

Subject: Important Account Update

Dear subscriber,

A Quarantine database maintenance is currently being carried out on our e-mail servers to upgrade spam and junk mail protection. We are also deleting all unused accounts in time for new accounts.To avoid closure of your account, you are obliged to update your account for the effect.

To update your account CLICK HERE

Thank you for using this service.

Warning: All email account owners who refuse to update account within two days of receipt of this email will lose his account permanently.

Regards,

David fisher

AOL Customer Service Team

Copyright ©2017, AOL All Rights Reserved

The link in the email message goes to the phishing website: hxxps://shopifyland.com/. The website looks similar to AOL's website and will ask visitors to sign-in. Once attempts are made to sign-in by visitors, their AOL usernames and passwords will be sent to the cybercriminals behind the scam. This is why AOL users should never click on a link to sign into their accounts. They should go directly to www.aol.com and sign-in from there. Once they have signed into their accounts, any updates or important notifications will be shown to them. Doing this will protect them from phishing scams.

AOL users who have already been tricked by the phishing scam are asked to change their passwords immediately. For those whose accounts have been hijacked, are asked to contact AOL for help.

Please share with us what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Also, check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any.

Remember to forward malicious or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: info@onlinethreatalerts.com

Share this on:

and/or ContributionDonate

Would you recommend this article to a friend or family member?
Yes (0) No (0)   

Comments, Questions and Reviews
Comment(Total: 0)

To help protect your privacy, please do not post your full name, telephone number, email address, username, password, account number, credit card information or home address in your comments, questions, or reviews.

Write a Comment, Review, or ask a Question or scroll down to view comments, reviews and questions made by others.

Submit Comment Write Your Comment, Question or Review

Write your comment, question or review in the box below to share what you know or to get answers. Please revisit after an hour or more to view reponses or answers to you questions.
All comments, questions or reviews will be examined for derogatory or indecent statements, spam or malicous code, before they are posted on this website.