Warning! JavaScript is turned off or disabled! Some features on this website will not work.
Alerts left arrow right arrow   

Beware of "Closing And Deleting Of Your Google Account in Progress" Phishing Scam

Comments  +
Beware of "Closing And Deleting Of Your Google Account in Progress" Phishing Scam

Google users who have received the email message below, which claims that the closing and deleting of their accounts are in progress, should delete it. The fake email message is a phishing scam being sent by cyber criminals to frighten and trick Google users into clicking on a link in it, which goes to a phishing website that steals Google and other online account credentials (usernames and passwords).

Please continue below.

The Phishing Google Account Email Message

From: Update Info <office@sureintl.com>

Sent: Tuesday, April 18, 2017 3:38 AM

To: noreply@hotmail.com

Subject: Closing And Deleting Of Your Google Account In Progress

Hotmail

Hi

We contacted you to let you know we will close & delete your Account! now

We would like to give you our final notice today before closing this email account.

Kindly visit your account below to cancel this unknown request

VISIT YOUR ACCOUNT DASHBOARD & CANCEL REQUEST

Thank you

Account team Inc © 2017

The link in the email message goes to phishing website looking exactly like Google's. On the website, visitors will be asked to sign-in, but any attempts to sign-in will result in their credentials being sent to the cybercriminals behind the phishing scam. Once the cybercriminals have received the stolen credentials, they will gain access to the accounts, hijack and use them fraudulently.

Google users who have already been tricked by the phishing email message are asked to change their Google account password immediately before their accounts are hijacked and used fraudulently by cybercriminals.

This is why Google users should never click on links in email messages to sign into their accounts. They should always go directly to https://accounts.google.com/ and sign-in from there. Once they have signed into their accounts, they will be notified of changes or updates that need to be done to their accounts, if there is any.

Please share with us what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Also, check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any.

Remember to forward malicious or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: info@onlinethreatalerts.com

Share this on:

and/or ContributionDonate

Would you recommend this article to a friend or family member?
Yes (0) No (0)   

Comments, Questions and Reviews
Comment(Total: 0)

To help protect your privacy, please do not post your full name, telephone number, email address, username, password, account number, credit card information or home address in your comments, questions, or reviews.

Write a Comment, Review, or ask a Question or scroll down to view comments, reviews and questions made by others.

Submit Comment Write Your Comment, Question or Review

Write your comment, question or review in the box below to share what you know or to get answers. Please revisit after an hour or more to view reponses or answers to you questions.
All comments, questions or reviews will be examined for derogatory or indecent statements, spam or malicous code, before they are posted on this website.