Warning! JavaScript is turned off or disabled! Some features on this website will not work.
»

Beware of "We Are Asking All User to Upgrade Due to Recent Security Incidents Online" Microsoft Phishing Scam

2017-05-24T10:59:42 -  +
Beware of "We Are Asking All User to Upgrade Due to Recent Security Incidents Online" Microsoft Phishing Scam

Microsoft users who have received email messages like the one below, which claim that they should upgrade due to recent security incidents online, should delete them. This is because the email messages are phishing scams. The phishing email messages are being by cyber criminals to trick their potential victims into clicking on the within them that go to a fake Microsoft website. Once on the fake website, visitors will be asked to sign-in with their Microsoft account credentials (username and password). But, any attempts to sign into the fake website will send their credentials to the cybercriminal behind the scam.

Please continue below.

A Sample of the Phishing Microsoft Scam

From: Mail Team <[email protected]>

Sent: Tuesday, May 23, 2017 8:43 PM

To: Outlook

Subject: MlCROSOFT UPDATE ALERT

Security update info

We are asking all user to upgrade due to recent security incidents online.

This is for your own safety to continue using your account,

click the Update button below.

UPDATE NOW

To opt out or change where you receive security notifications, click here.

Nοte: Your account will be closed if not updated within 48-hours.

We apologize for any inconveniences

Thanks,

Once the cybercriminals have gotten their potential victims' Microsoft account credentials, they will gain access to their accounts, hijack them, and use them fraudulently. Hijacked accounts that are used fraudulently will be blocked by Microsoft, therefore, Microsoft users who have been tricked by the phishing scam are asked to change their passwords before their accounts are hijacked.

Microsoft users whose accounts have already been hijacked may follow the instructions below to recover their accounts:

  • Go to https://login.live.com/
  • Enter your email address and click the "Next" button
  • Click the "Forgot my password" link
  • Click "I think someone else is using my Microsoft account" link
  • Follow the rest of the instructions

Remember, never click on a link in an email message to sign into your Microsoft account. Always go directly to www.hotmail.com, www.outlook.com, or login.live.com to sign-in instead. After signing in, important notifications, changes or updates will be shown to you, if there is any.

Please share with us what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Also, check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any.

Remember to forward suspicious, malicious, or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: [email protected]

Also, report scams, untrustworthy, or fraudulent websites to us. Tell us why you consider the websites untrustworthy or fraudulent.

If you want to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search engine.

Comments, Questions and Reviews
(Total: 2)

To help protect your privacy, please do not post or remove, your full name, telephone number, email address, username, password, account number, credit card information, home address or other sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews.

The comments or reviews below do not necessarily reflect the views of Online Threat Alerts.

  • Posted: 2017-08-29T23:28:35 by an anonymous user from or near: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

    I received the following email; what aroused my suspicion was the spelling of IGNORE. On looking for sender I got email id of one [email protected]

    -- start of scam --
    "Security Info Update

    We are asking users to upgrade due to recent security incidents online.

    This is to notify you that we are currently updating the windows services agreement and privacy statement. Please keep your security information updated.

    Do not ignored!

    UPGRADE NOW

    NOTE: YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS WILL BE DISABLED IF NOT UPDATED. (UPDATE IS FREE)

    Thanks
    for using security [email protected]"

    delete


  • Posted: 2017-05-29T00:07:31 by info

    Here is another scam:

    "From: [email protected]
    Sent: May 23, 2017 7:06:23 PM
    Subject: RESET CONFIRMATION™

    Security update info

    We are asking all user to upgrade due to recent security incidents online.
    This is for your own safety to continue using your account,
    click the Update button below.
    UPDATE NOW

    To opt out or change where you receive security notifications, click here.

    N?te: Your account will be closed if not updated within 48-hours.
    We apologize for any inconveniences
    Thanks,"

    delete


Show More of the 2 Comments

Write Your Comment, Question or Review

Write your comment, question or review in the box below to share what you know or to get answers. Please revisit after an hour or more to view reponses or answers to you questions.

Your comment, question or review will be posted as an anonymous user because you are not signed in. Sign-in.