No internet connection

No Internet Connection Detected

"Outlook Confirm Your Mail" Phishing Scam

Outlook users are advised not to follow the instructions in fake email messages like the one below, which claim they need to confirm their Outlook or Hotmail accounts in order to restore access. The fake messages are being sent by cyber criminals to trick Outlook users into clicking on the links in the fake email messages that go to a phishing website that steals Outlook, Hotmail or Microsoft account usernames and passwords. The phishing website, which looks exactly like Microsoft Outlook' sign-in page, will ask potential victims to sign-in with their Outlook or Microsoft accounts’ credential, but once the information is submitted, it will be sent to the cybercriminals responsible for the fake website. The cybercriminals will then use the information to hijack their victims’ Microsoft Outlook accounts and use them fraudulently.

Outlook Confirm Your Mail Phishing Scam
Advertisement

The "Outlook Confirm Your Mail" Phishing Scam

From: CUSTOMER CARE msn-services25@outlook.com

Sent: July 11, 2017 1:40 AM

To: no-reply0070@outlook.com

Subject: ?CONFIRM YOUR MAIL

Outlook Mail

You have reached the storage limit for your Mailbox. Please visit the following link to complete your e-mail access restore.

NOTE: your mailbox might be close down kindly

Follow this link to complete the process: Restore Now

System Administrator.

Outlook Team

Microsoft account users should never click on a link in an email message to sign into their accounts. It is recommended that they go directly to www.outlook.com, www.hotmail.com, or www.live.com, and sign into their accounts from there. This is the best way to protect against phishing scams created by cyber criminals to steal online account credentials (usernames and passwords).

Check the comment section below for additional information, share what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. And, to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search Search engine.

Click here help maintain Online Threat Alerts (OTA).

Note: Some of the information in samples on this website may have been impersonated or spoofed.
Would you share this article with others?  +

Comments, Questions, Answers, or Reviews

Comments (Total: 5)

To protect your privacy, please do not post or remove sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews.
Advertisement

The comments, reviews or answers below do not necessarily reflect the views of Online Threat Alerts (OTA).

  • April 3, 2020 at 3:34 AM by an anonymous user from: Dulwich Hill, New South Wales, Australia

    Still sleepy this morning I opened outlook on a laptop and a small official looking message box came up over the top of it saying gmail/google wanted to contact me. It then gave a hidden xxxxxxxxxxx password and like a fool I hit ok because I couldn't actually remember my gmail password. WTF have I done? Is my ban account at risk now because they're following keystrokes?

    • April 3, 2020 at 3:38 AM by info

      I do think so, but I would recommend changing your password.

      • April 3, 2020 at 8:22 AM by an anonymous user from: Dulwich Hill, New South Wales, Australia

        Thanks for that but if they've got into my pc via my outlook and gmail, aren't they able to be in my internet and follow keystrokes when I change the bank password? I don't have a password to actually start my laptop and I wouldn't know how to set one on this Windows 10 already installed when I bought it...

        Thanks so much for this - I'm not a tech lover and not at all savvy - just a very uncomplicated user of what's there :-(

        • April 3, 2020 at 11:53 AM by info

          They did not get into your Outlook, they just sent an email to you hoping you would download their malware, which they can use to get into your computer. Therefore, be careful of the file you download and install.

  • July 12, 2017 at 3:56 AM by an anonymous user from: Yakum, Merkaz, Israel

    Protecting against fake email messages can be done by the Chrome extension ScamBlockPlus. The extension will let you click on the link at the email message, but if it leads to an untrusted website, like those the faked ones, it will open under an incognito mode, so you won't be able to put in or expose your private info, and the fraudsters won't be able to steal it or use it.

Comments Show More Comments (4)

Write Your Comment, Question, Answer, or Review

NB: We will use your IP address to display your approximate location to other users.

Your post will be set as an anonymous because you are not signed in. Anonymous posts cannot be edited or deleted. Sign-in.

Advertisement
"Outlook Confirm Your Mail" Phishing Scam