"Your Subscription to Rocketgeek is Waiting for Approval" PayPal Phishing Scam

Your Subscription to Rocketgeek is Waiting for Approval PayPal Phishing Scam

Would you share this Article with others?

PayPal users who have received fake and fraudulent email messages like the one below, which claim that their subscription to Rocketgeek is waiting for approval are asked to delete the email messages. And, they should also not follow the instructions in the email messages. This is because the fake and fraudulent email messages are being sent by cyber criminals to trick PayPal users into visiting a phishing website that will steal their usernames and passwords.

The fake and fraudulent emails are not from Rocketgeek.com and, unless you’ve actually registered as a user at Rocketgeek.com, you're not subscribed. Therefore, there is no need to contact Rocketgeek.com, just delete the fraudulent email messages and check your PayPal account for any discrepancies.

The "Your Subscription to Rocketgeek is Waiting for Approval" PayPal Phishing Scam

From: Paypal <paypal@h-email.com>

Sent: July 13, 2017 6:26 AM

Subject: Notification: About your subscription approval.

Hi Dear,

Your subscription to Rocketgeek is waiting for Approval.

Your recurring payment to Rocketgeek will be activated in the next 48 Hours, If this was unauthorized please follow the steps in this link Here to confirm your cancellation.




876-661-2199 Instructions to merchant

You haven't entered any instructions.


Unit price



Rocketgeek.com Annual Subscription



$59.00 USD

Subtotal $59.00 USD

Fees $1.14 USD

Payment $60.14 USD

Payment to support@Rocketgeek.com

Note: You will automatically charged 59.00 $ plus any applicable tax every month starting July 15.2017.

The link in the fake and fraudulent email message goes to the following fake/phishing PayPal website:

  • hxxps://subscription.paypal-cancellation.agreement-update.date/

which was created by cybercriminals to trick their potential victims into signing in. But, any attempts to sign into the fake/phishing website will result in the potential victims' PayPal accounts being sent to the cybercriminals behind the scam, who will use it to steal their money and use their accounts fraudulently. The cyber-criminals/scammers will change the website's name, so look out for similar phishing email messages with links that go to different phishing websites.

PayPal users who have been tricked into submitting their PayPal credentials on the fake website are asked to change their passwords immediately. And, are asked never to click on a link to sign into their PayPal accounts. They should instead, go directly to www.paypal.com and sign-in from there.

Note: Some of the names, addresses, email addresses, telephone numbers or other information in samples on this website may have been impersonated or spoofed.

Please share what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any. Remember to forward suspicious, malicious, or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: info@onlinethreatalerts.com. And, report missing persons, scams, untrustworthy, or fraudulent websites to us. Tell us why you consider the websites untrustworthy or fraudulent. Also, to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search engine.

You can help maintain Online Threat Alerts (OTA) by paying a service fee. Click here to make payment.

Comments, Questions, Answers, or Reviews
(Total: 2)

To help protect your privacy, please do not post or remove, your full name, telephone number, email address, username, password, account number, credit card information, home address or other sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews.

The comments, reviews or answers below do not necessarily reflect the views of Online Threat Alerts (OTA).

  • July 15, 2017 at 6:18 AM by an anonymous user from Atlanta, Georgia, United States

    As the owner of rocketgeek.com, it is very frustrating. I'm getting barraged with angry hate email asking to be unsubscribed, etc.

    Just to clarify, this phishing scam has absolutely zero to do with rocketgeek.com. It is not from rocketgeek.com and no one that is receiving it is a customer of rocketgeek.com. It's simply crafted to look that way.

    RocketGeek.com is actually a legitimate business and has been for over a decade. It is frustrating that my name is being damaged by this.


  • July 14, 2017 at 4:01 AM by an anonymous user from Taoyuan City, Taiwan, Taiwan

    I've got the exact the same e-mail,but the link is different as hxxp://h-email.com/sub/

    I've checked is on hxxp://www.urlvoid.com/scan/h-email.com/,this site was created 8 days ago

    Be cautious, guys!


 Show More Comments (2)
Write Your Comment, Question, Answer, or Review

Write your comment, question, answer, or review in the box below to share what you know or to get answers. NB: We will use your IP address to display your approximate location to other users.

Your comment, question, answer, or review will be posted as an anonymous user because you are not signed in. Anonymous posts cannot be edited or deleted. Sign-in.

"Your Subscription to Rocketgeek is Waiting for Approval" PayPal Phishing Scam