"Microsoft Storage Limit Notification" Phishing Scams

Advertisement

Microsoft account users who have received emails like the one below, which claim they have reached their email storage limit and will not receive new messages until you they have expanded their storage limit, are asked to delete them. This is because the emails are fakes being sent by cybercriminals to frighten and trick the recipients into clicking on the link within it. The link goes to a phishing website or a fake website looking like Microsoft’s website, created by cybercriminals to trick potential victims into entering their Microsoft account usernames and passwords on it, by asking them to sign in. But, any attempts to sign into the fake website, will result in the victims’ Microsoft account usernames and passwords being sent to cybercriminals.

Microsoft Storage Limit Notification Phishing Scams
Advertisement

Once cybercriminals have gotten their potential victims’ account credentials (usernames and passwords), they will use it to hijack their Microsoft accounts and use them fraudulently. Therefore, recipients of the phishing email message (see below) who were tricked into clicking on the link within it and have attempted to sign into the phishing or fake website that they were taken, are asked to change their Microsoft account passwords immediately, before they are hijacked and used fraudulently by cybercriminals.

A Sample of the "Microsoft Storage Limit Notification" Phishing Scam

From: Account Security <pengyonghw@hotmail.com>

Sent: Tuesday, September 19, 2017 7:32 am

Subject: Storage Limit Notification

To: <noreply@hotmail.com>

Final Warning

Dear user,

You have reached the storage limit of your mail and cannot receive new messages until you Expand Your Storage Limit.

Follow the link below to Expand Storage Limit so it will enable you receive your new messages

Expand Limit

This restriction will be disabled intermediately we confirm storage expand

successful.

Thanks,

The email security team.

Netease respects your privacy. To learn more, please read our online Privacy Statement

Account Corporation, One Account Way, Redmond, WA 98052-6399, USA © 2017 Netease Corporation. All rights reserved

Microsoft users should never click on a link to sign into their accounts, they should instead, go directly to https://outlook.live.com and sign-in from there. If there is something that needs to be done to their accounts, they will be notified. This is will prevent Microsoft users from visiting phishing websites disguised as legitimate Microsoft website that steals account credentials.

Check the comment section below for additional information, share what you know, or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. And, to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search Search engine.

Note: Some of the information in samples on this website may have been impersonated or spoofed.
Would you share this article with others?  +

DonateHelp maintain Online Threat Alerts (OTA).

Comments, Questions, Answers, or Reviews

Comments (Total: 1)

To protect your privacy, please do not post or remove sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews.

The comments, reviews or answers below do not necessarily reflect the views of Online Threat Alerts (OTA).

  • December 20, 2017 at 12:44 PM by an anonymous user from: Wakefield, New Brunswick, Canada

    I copy and pasted in the address in the message and it brought me to this site which confirmed what I figured that the message was total BS. One Account Way, Redmond, WA 98052-6399, USA © 2017 Netease Corporation

Comments Show More Comments (0)

Write Your Comment, Question, Answer, or Review

NB: We will use your IP address to display your approximate location to other users.

Your post will be set as an anonymous because you are not signed in. Anonymous posts cannot be edited or deleted. Sign-in.

Recommendation / Advertisement
"Microsoft Storage Limit Notification" Phishing Scams