Once cybercriminals have gotten their potential victims’ account credentials (usernames and passwords), they will use it to hijack their Yahoo accounts and use them fraudulently. Therefore, recipients of the phishing email message (see below) who were tricked into clicking on the link within it and have attempted to sign into the phishing or fake website that they were taken, are asked to change their Yahoo account passwords immediately, before they are hijacked and used fraudulently by cybercriminals.
The "You Would be Blocked from Sending and Receiving Emails" Phishing Scam
Subject: Security Alart.!!
From: Yahoo Security <email@example.com>
Sent: Wednesday, September 27, 2017, 11:24 AM
Yahoo! Security Alert
You would be blocked from sending and receiving emails if not confirmed within 24hrs of receiving this automated mail for the newest yahoo version.
You are required to update through the link below.
Thanks for using Yahoo Mail Services
Please do not reply to this e-mail. Mail sent to this address cannot be answered.
For assistance, log in to your email! website and choose the "Help" link on any page.
Customer Service Email ID # 1009.
c 2017!, Inc. All rights reserved.
Yahoo users should never click on a link to sign into their accounts, they should instead, go directly to https://mail.yahoo.com and sign-in from there. If there is something that needs to be done to their accounts, they will be notified. This is will prevent Yahoo users from visiting phishing websites disguised as legitimate Yahoo website that steal account credentials.
Check the comment section below for additional information, share what you know, or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. And, to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search
Note: Some of the information in samples on this website may have been impersonated or spoofed.
Comments, Questions, Answers, or Reviews
To protect your privacy, please do not post or remove sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews. NB: We will use your IP address to display your approximate location to other users. That location is not enough to find you.
Your comment, answer, or review will be set as anonymous because you are not signed in. An anonymous comment, answer, or review cannot be edited or deleted, therefore, review it carefully before posting. Sign-in.
Show More Comments (1)
Write Your Comment, Question, Answer, or Review
Recommendation / Advertisement