There is no "Microsoft Security Info Update 2018" like the one below. Therefore, Microsoft users who have received the email message below, which claims that their emails will be blocked and they will not be able to read and send emails, and they will no longer have access to their emails, are asked to delete it. This is because it is a phishing scam being sent by cybercriminals to steal Microsoft Hotmail, Live or Outlook usernames and passwords. The fake email message tricks the recipients into visiting a phishing website where they will be asked to sign into their accounts, but any attempt to sign-in to the phishing website will result in their account credentials being sent to the cybercriminals behind the phishing email message.
Sample of the "Microsoft Security Info Update 2018" Phishing Email
From: Account Security <email@example.com>
Date: 13 February 2018 at 07:40:28 GMT
To: "firstname.lastname@example.org" <email@example.com>
Subject: Security Info Update 2018
Security Info Update 2018
This is to inform you for the final time that on 20th February,2018, We will discontinue support on your account and security.
If you choose not to renew your account on or 20th February,2018, your email will be blocked and you will not be able to read and send emails, and you will no longer have access to your email and many of the latest features for improved, conversations, contacts and attachments.
Take a minute to renew your account for a faster, safer and full-featured experience. Renew below
Renew Your Account
Thanks for using service
Customer Member Service
The link in the email message goes to a fake Microsoft Hotmail website, which will attempt to trick the potential victims into entering their usernames and passwords on it. If the potential victims enter their Microsoft Outlook, Hotmail, Live usernames, and passwords on the fake website, the information will be sent to the cyber-criminals behind the email scam, who will use the information to hijack the victims' accounts.
If you receive email messages like these, please go directly to your email account instead of clicking on the links in the email messages. If there is anything wrong with your account or something needs to be done to it, it will be shown to you after you have signed into your account. If you were tricked by one of these malicious phishing scams, please change your Hotmail, Live or Outlook immediately. If you are unable to, click here to report it to Microsoft.