The "We Will Terminate Your Email in the Next 24 Hours Server Alert" Scam
From: Windows Live 2018 <email@example.com>
Sent: 22 March 2018 14:29
Subject: SERVER ALERT: WE WILL TERMINATE YOUR EMAIL IN THE NEXT 24HOURS!
Update Your Account
Our record indicates your account is not updated, which may lead to the close down of your account.
If you don't update your account, you will not be able to send and receive emails again, and you will no longer have access to many of our latest features for improved Conversations, Contacts and Attachments.
Take a minute to update your account for a faster and full featured mail experience
Update your account
Note: Failure to update your mailbox will lead to permanent deactivation of your account.
The Security team.
The link in the email message goes to a fake Outlook or Microsoft website, which will attempt to trick the cyber-criminals' potential victims into entering their usernames and passwords on it. If the potential victims enter their Microsoft Outlook, Hotmail, Live usernames and passwords on the fake website, it will be sent to the cyber-criminals behind the email scam, who will use the information to hijack their accounts.
If you have received the same email message, please go directly to your email account instead of clicking on the links in the email message. And, if there is anything wrong with your account, it will be shown to you after signing in. If you were tricked by the phishing email, please change your Microsoft Hotmail/Live/Outlook immediately. If you are unable to, click here to report it to Microsoft.
Check the comment section below for additional information, share what you know, or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. And, to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search
Note: Some of the information in samples on this website may have been impersonated or spoofed.
Comments, Questions, Answers, or Reviews
To protect your privacy, please do not post or remove sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews. NB: We will use your IP address to display your approximate location to other users. That location is not enough to find you.
Your comment, answer, or review will be set as anonymous because you are not signed in. An anonymous comment, answer, or review cannot be edited or deleted, therefore, review it carefully before posting. Sign-in.
Show More Comments (6)
Write Your Comment, Question, Answer, or Review
Recommendation / Advertisement