The "Microsoft Account Closure Notice" Phishing Scam
Van: MlCROSOFT ACCOUNT TEAM <email@example.com>
Verzonden: woensdag 7 maart 2018 10:04
Aan: MlCROSOFT ACCOUNT TEAM
Onderwerp: FINAL WARNING: ACCOUNT DELETION NOTIFICATION.
Update Your Account
Our records indicates your account is not updated, which may lead to the close down of your account.
If you don't update your account, you will not be able to send and receive emails again, and you will no longer have access to many of our latest features for improved Conversations, Contacts and Attachments.
Take a minute to update your account for a faster and full featured mail experience
Re-sign in and update your account
Note: Failure to update your account might lead to permanent deactivation of your account.
The Security team.
The link in the email message goes to a fake Outlook or Microsoft website, which will attempt to trick the cyber-criminals' potential victims into entering their usernames and passwords on it. If the potential victims enter their Microsoft Outlook, Hotmail, Live usernames and passwords on the fake website, it will be sent to the cyber-criminals behind the email scam, who will use the information to hijack their accounts.
If you have received the same email message, please go directly to your email account instead of clicking on the links in the email message. And, if there is anything wrong with your account, it will be shown to you after signing in. If you were tricked by the phishing email, please change your Microsoft account password immediately. If you are unable to, click here to report it to Microsoft.