Warning! JavaScript is turned off or disabled! Some features on this website will not work.
« »
»

Beware of "Microsoft Mail-Box Account will Shut Down Soon" Phishing Scams

2018-04-25T03:27:13 -  +
Beware of "Microsoft Mail-Box Account will Shut Down Soon" Phishing Scams

Online users who have received "Mail-Box Account will Shut Down Soon" email messages like the one below, which claim that their email accounts will expire or mailbox will shutdown, should delete them. This is because the email messages are phishing scams being sent by cyber criminals to trick the recipients into clicking on the links in them that go to phishing websites that steal email account usernames and passwords.

Please continue reading below.

The "Microsoft Mail-Box Account will Shut Down Soon" Phishing Scam

From: Security team Account <yamayu6412@hotmail.com>

Sent: Wednesday, April 25, 2018 9:02:28 AM

To: account-security-noreply@accountprotection.microsoft.com

Subject: Mail-Box Account will shut down soon (Final warning verification alert)

Your Services Agreement and Privacy Statement made clearer

E-mail final warning verification alert

Our record indicates that your account is not updated, which may lead to the close down of your account.

If you don't update your account, you will not be able to send and receive emails again, and you will no longer have access to many of our latest features for improved Conversations, Contacts and Attachments.

Take a minute to update your account for a faster and full featured mail experience

Re-update your account

Note: Failure to update your account might lead to permanent suspension of your account.

Thanks,

The Security team.

If the links in the phishing email messages are clicked by the recipients, they will be taken to a phishing website and ask to sign-in. If they attempt to do so, their email account credentials (usernames and passwords) will be sent to the cybercriminals behind the scam. Once the cybercriminals have gotten the stolen credentials, they will gain access to the accounts, hijack them, and use them fraudulently.

Therefore, online users who have received email messages with a link to update their information or make changes to their accounts should always go directly to their email account provider's website and sign into their accounts instead of clicking on the link. Once online users have signed into their accounts, they will be noticed of changes or updates, if there are any. Going directly to their email provider's website and signing in from there is the only guaranteed way of preventing online users from becoming victims of phishing scams.

Online users who have already been tricked by the phishing scam are asked change their passwords immediately before their accounts are hijacked and used fraudulently. If their accounts have already been hijacked by cybercriminals they need to contact their email providers for help.

Please share what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Also, check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any.

Remember to forward suspicious, malicious, or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: info@onlinethreatalerts.com

Also, report scams, untrustworthy, or fraudulent websites to us. Tell us why you consider the websites untrustworthy or fraudulent.

If you want to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search engine.

Remember to help us, help you, by donating. 🎁Click here to donate

Please continue reading below.

Comments, Questions and Reviews ✍
(Total: 0)

To help protect your privacy, please do not post or remove, your full name, telephone number, email address, username, password, account number, credit card information, home address or other sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews.

Show More of the 0 Comments

Write Your Comment, Question or Review

Write your comment, question or review in the box below to share what you know or to get answers. Please revisit after an hour or more to view reponses or answers to you questions.

Your comment, question or review will be posted as an anonymous user because you are not signed in. Sign-in.