Warning! JavaScript is turned off or disabled! Some features on this website will not work.
« »
»

Beware of "Microsoft Office 365 Authorize Email To Avoid Close Down" Phishing Scam

2018-05-22T12:49:41 -  +
Beware of "Microsoft Office 365 Authorize Email To Avoid Close Down" Phishing Scam

The fake "Microsoft Office 365 Authorize Email To Avoid Close Down" email is another scam being used by cybercriminals to trick recipients into clicking on the link in it which goes to a phishing website. Visitors who attempt to sign into the fake website will have their Microsoft account username and password sent to the cybercriminals behind the scam. Once the cybercriminals have received the stolen account credentials (usernames and passwords), they will use it to gain access to their accounts and use it fraudulently.

Please continue reading below.

The "Microsoft Office 365 Authorize Email To Avoid Close Down" Phishing Scam

From: Panda, Saroj K

Sent: Tuesday, May 22, 2018 9:49:22 AM

Subject: Authorize Email To Avoid Close Down

You may no longer have access to your office365 email account because your email account has exceeded it's mail quota on the database server. If you want to continue using your office365 account, please verify your account to continue using your email service. Update through the link below.

UPDATE EMAIL

Sincerely,

Information Technology.

The link in this fake email goes to the following website:

  • hxxps://90090421.com/aaa/office/

Once the cybercriminals have gotten their potential victims' Microsoft account credentials, they will gain access to their accounts, hijack them, and use them fraudulently. Hijacked accounts that are used fraudulently will be blocked by Microsoft, therefore, Microsoft users who have been tricked by the phishing scam are asked to change their passwords before their accounts are hijacked.

Microsoft users whose accounts have already been hijacked may follow the instructions below to recover their accounts:

  • Go to https://login.live.com/
  • Enter your email address and click the "Next" button
  • Click the "Forgot my password" link
  • Click "I think someone else is using my Microsoft account" link
  • Follow the rest of the instructions

Remember, never click on a link in an email message to sign into your Microsoft account. Always go directly to www.hotmail.com, www.outlook.com, or login.live.com to sign-in instead. After signing in, important notifications, changes or updates will be shown to you, if there is any.

Please share what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Also, check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any.

Remember to forward suspicious, malicious, or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: info@onlinethreatalerts.com

Also, report scams, untrustworthy, or fraudulent websites to us. Tell us why you consider the websites untrustworthy or fraudulent.

If you want to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search engine.

Remember to help us, help you, by donating. 🎁Click here to donate

Please continue reading below.

Comments, Questions and Reviews ✍
(Total: 0)

To help protect your privacy, please do not post or remove, your full name, telephone number, email address, username, password, account number, credit card information, home address or other sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews.

Show More of the 0 Comments

Write Your Comment, Question or Review

Write your comment, question or review in the box below to share what you know or to get answers. Please revisit after an hour or more to view reponses or answers to you questions.

Your comment, question or review will be posted as an anonymous user because you are not signed in. Sign-in.