»

"Yahoo Account Blockage Notification" Phishing Scam

 +
"Yahoo Account Blockage Notification" Phishing Scam

Would you share this Article with others?

The "Yahoo Account Blockage Notification" email message below, which claims the recipients have exceeded their storage limit is a phishing scam. The phishing email message is being sent by cybercriminals to trick Yahoo users into clicking on the link in it, by falsely claiming that their email accounts will be closed if they do not take action. But, the link in the email message goes to a fake Yahoo website that will ask visitors to sign-in. Once visitors attempt to sign into the fake website with their Yahoo usernames and passwords, their information will be sent to the cybercriminals behind the phishing scam.

The "Yahoo Account Blockage Notification" Phishing Scam

From: Yahoo Support <shie.aban_eesi@yahoo.com>

Sent: Thursday, June 21, 2018, 11:53:07 AM GMT+8

Subject: Account Blockage Notification!!!

YAHOO

Dear User,

Your E-mail has exceeded the storage limit. You can not make fully use of yourmail account until you re-validate your mail.

To re-validate the mailbox open the attached Yahoo! re-validation form to continue.

This is a service announcement regarding your account-

Failure to comply to this notification will lead to permanent closure of your mail account.

Thanks!

Support dept.

Once the cybercriminals have received the stolen Yahoo usernames and passwords, they will use it to hijack their potential victims’ accounts and use the accounts fraudulently. This is why Yahoo user should never click on links in email messages to sign into their accounts, they should instead, go directly to https://mail.yahoo.com and sign into their email accounts from there. If there is someone that needs to be done their accounts, they will be notified after signing in.

Yahoo users whose accounts have already been hijacked are asked to go to https://mail.yahoo.com and click the "Trouble signing in?" link for help regaining access to their accounts.

Note: Some of the names, addresses, email addresses, telephone numbers or other information in samples on this website may have been impersonated or spoofed.

Please share what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Also, check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any.

Remember to forward suspicious, malicious, or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: info@onlinethreatalerts.com

Also, report missing persons, scams, untrustworthy, or fraudulent websites to us. Tell us why you consider the websites untrustworthy or fraudulent.

If you want to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search engine.

You can help maintain Online Threat Alerts (OTA) by paying a service fee. Click here to make payment.

Comments, Questions, Answers, or Reviews
(Total: 12)

To help protect your privacy, please do not post or remove, your full name, telephone number, email address, username, password, account number, credit card information, home address or other sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews.

The comments or reviews below do not necessarily reflect the views of Online Threat Alerts.

  • May 28, 2019 at 11:25 PM by an anonymous user from Quezon City, National Capital Region, Philippines

    how can I remove my yahoo account blockage notification?

    remove

    • May 28, 2019 at 11:33 PM by info

      There is no blockage, it is a fake and scam.

      remove

  • November 28, 2018 at 5:24 AM by info

    Here is another scam:

    ----- Forwarded Message -----

    From: Account Blockage Notification!!! <m_murarescu@yahoo.com>

    Sent: Tuesday, November 27, 2018, 9:37:24 AM MST

    Subject: ❶ unread message from Yahoo!

    FINAL WARNING

    Dear user

    Your Yahoo! account has been marked for immediate shutdown due to non-verification.

    Please follow the attachment below to verify and prevent loss of account.

    This warning will expire in 24 hours!

    Sincerely

    Yahoo! Mail.

    Thanks for taking this additional steps to keep your account safe.

    remove

  • September 22, 2018 at 6:21 AM by an anonymous user from Alexandria, Egypt

    Hi,

    I have unfortunately fallen for this scam.

    All my emails are sent with Account Blockage Notification (ABN), instead of my name.

    I have changed the password and added a recovery email, and blocked those mails, and deleted them.

    No use, my sender name is still ABN.

    What should I do please?

    Thank you in advance..

    remove

    • September 22, 2018 at 8:52 AM by info

      You have done the right thing already.

      remove

      • September 22, 2018 at 11:40 AM by an anonymous user from Alexandria, Egypt

        Thank you for your reply, but then why am I still getting ABN, and my name is not in use please?

        Thank you in advance.

        remove

  • September 9, 2018 at 10:17 PM by an anonymous user from Angeles City, Central Luzon, Philippines

    I just received this email from server527@82-bnhasf-61bfp.mdqvjz.com

    is this a legit email?

    remove

    • September 9, 2018 at 11:17 PM by info

      No, it is not legit.

      remove

  • August 16, 2018 at 4:44 AM by an anonymous user from Concord, California, United States

    Dear yahoo support,

    I already tried to sign in but only put my email address and did not put my password since yahoo uses an account key now. Should I leave it alone? What should I do?

    remove

    • August 16, 2018 at 5:40 AM by info

      Once did not enter your password, you are ok, so just leave it alone.

      remove

  • July 16, 2018 at 3:09 AM by an anonymous user from Dubai, United Arab Emirates

    Dear Yahoo support,

    What if I already follow and opened the linked and signed in?

    What shall I do to protect my account?

    remove

    • July 16, 2018 at 5:35 AM by info

      Change your password immediately.

      remove

 Show More Comments (12)
Write Your Comment, Question, Answer, or Review
Write your comment, question, answer, or review in the box below to share what you know or to get answers. NB: We will use your IP address to display your approximate location to other users.
Your comment, question, answer, or review will be posted as an anonymous user because you are not signed in. Anonymous posts cannot be edited or deleted. Sign-in.

"Yahoo Account Blockage Notification" Phishing Scam