No internet connection

No Internet Connection Detected

Is ökowatt a Scam? See the Reviews

I think Okowatt(ökowatt) is just another scam. I am a professional electrician and worked in the field for many years, even had an electrical contractor's license. I spent my greatest number of years in the field working as an electrical technician and troubleshooter and I can tell you that everything in a building, be it a house or otherwise, requires so much power and you get billed for the amount of power you consume, not for capacity, current or anything else.

Is ökowatt a Scam? See the Reviews
Advertisement

There is a power equation and you can manipulate any part of the equation but on the other side of that equation, you will have total power needed or consumed and that will not change, unless you want things not to work or wear out sooner than they were designed to.

I can get a 120V light bulb to work for at least a short while, but if the voltage is too much, the thing will burn out. I can play around with the current but things will either not work or stop working soon.

There is really only one way for anyone to save on electricity and that is not to use it, period. If anyone really wants to save on electricity, then use only one or just a few solar panels to create your own electricity. Solar panel systems can be custom-designed to serve the needs of just one or a few circuits but one does not need to spend $20,000 for an entire house system. A product like Okowatt(ökowatt) that cost only $40.00 is not going to get you anywhere.



Click here help maintain Online Threat Alerts (OTA).
Would you share this review with others?  +

Comments, Questions, Answers, or Reviews

Comments (Total: 13)

To protect your privacy, please do not post or remove sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews.
Advertisement

The comments, reviews or answers below do not necessarily reflect the views of Online Threat Alerts (OTA).

  • August 25, 2020 at 10:12 AM by an anonymous user from: Worcester, Massachusetts, United States

    I have 2 units in my moderately sized home for 4 months and have seen zero difference in my electric bill. Appears to be a scam to me

  • August 10, 2020 at 11:04 AM by an anonymous user from: Bossier City, Louisiana, United States

    Have had four months and see no reduction in power costs. The unit is within six feet of the power box. Cannot find a number to contact them. In my opinion, this is a rip-off. Would have been willing to try a replacement.

  • July 17, 2020 at 7:47 AM by an anonymous user from: Cresco, Iowa, United States

    I think therumbrras supply is a scam. I put an order in for a oko watt control on June 3 2020, today it is July 17 2020. I have been trying to contact them and they do not get back to me and all they say no one is able to take my call the hone number 855-806-0893

  • June 29, 2020 at 7:47 AM by an anonymous user from: Bremen, Georgia, United States

    My Electric Bill went from 190.00 a month to 140.00 a month. It worked for me.

  • June 25, 2020 at 10:25 AM by an anonymous user from: Houston, Texas, United States

    This device is theoretically possible. I am a chemical engineer. There is something called Power factor which is a measure of how much the alternating voltage leads or lags the generated voltage. Basically regular resistance light bulbs have no effect on power factor but motors have inductive load where they store unused power for a few factions of a second and then send it back lowering the power factor. You pay for the current even if you don't use all the power. This is combated by adding a capacitor which shifts the load the opposite way. Your air conditioner probably already has a capacitor (about the size of a coke can) but other inductive loads in your house (transformers, small motors, etc) probably do not. The power company may add capacitors on their lines (look exactly like transformers), but it is not in their interest to do so unless they can't provide the required peak load.

    OK so much for background. Obviously an OkoWatt unit doesn't contain a large capacitor, it is just too small. However it is possible to mimic capacitance with a large power transistor. Add a sensing, control and driving circuit and presto the claims are possible.

    I have no idea if OKoWatt is doing this as they give no engineering specs.

  • June 15, 2020 at 6:49 PM by an anonymous user from: Madison, Mississippi, United States

    Point on. Point on. Point on. Point on.

  • June 14, 2020 at 2:28 PM by an anonymous user from: Dallas, Texas, United States

    So glad I checked this out first. There are so many idiots, cheaters, low

    Iives out to take advantage . Do not, I repeat Do not order anything before checking out reviews.

    Only a guess but makeup, Dr Oz endorsed products, Pro Drones, scams every one of them and many others.

    Order only thru reputable company’s that you are familiar with, if in doubt don’t order. Another big scam is covid-19

    Face masks, know the company you are ordering from, you stand to lose your money and with your credit info

    It can be used for ordering. BE AWARE.

  • June 13, 2020 at 9:51 PM by an anonymous user from: Denver, Colorado, United States

    Keep in mind . . .you get exactly what you pay for. In my 93rd year there is no such thing as a 'free lunch'. If you got 50 or more bucks to spend, take your bride out your bride and have a great dinner. Jerry (A hands-on VET (WWII thru Vietnam)

  • June 13, 2020 at 1:22 PM by an anonymous user from: United States

    Is the unit UL approved?

  • June 4, 2020 at 8:23 AM by an anonymous user from: Winter Garden, Florida, United States

    I am an electrician and can say with out a doubt this is a scam. You pay for the electricity you use not what comes in to the panel.

  • May 21, 2020 at 6:55 PM by an anonymous user from: Hemet, California, United States

    This is an age old scam . Just another name and configuration of the same technology that doesn't save anything. This pitch comes around every year or so under a new con to get a sucker's money. don't fall for it!

  • April 2, 2020 at 8:03 PM by an anonymous user from: Miami, Florida, United States

    It’s a scam.

    It’s a small, very small, capacitor which MAY, in a very small way reduce the kVAR (apparent power) consumed in your house by altering the pf (Power Factor)

    You pay for the active POWER you consume, kWh.

    Your utility meter ONLY measures and makes you pay for kWh. Not kVAR.

    No private home or small business is charged for kVAR, which is only done for LARGE industrial users.

    As a fact, your power company makes and transmits kVA on their lines, the lower the pf, they lower the kW (active power) and more kVA (reactive power), and the larger power lines need to be. They want to supply as near 1.0 pf as they can, to save on alternator and line investment.

    • June 24, 2020 at 9:40 PM by an anonymous user from: Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States

      If I'm right, aren't you suppose to initiate capacitance at the nearest point of any circuits that have inductance. And also, metering takes place near the service panel but not power correction. You correct near the source of inductance(homes probably only have measurable amounts in HVAC system compressor motor coils which is balanced anyways with capacitors. It's a total scam

Comments Show More Reviews (12)

Write Your Comment, Question, Answer, or Review

NB: We will use your IP address to display your approximate location to other users.

Your post will be set as an anonymous because you are not signed in. Anonymous posts cannot be edited or deleted. Sign-in.

Advertisement
Is ökowatt a Scam? See the Reviews