»

Facebook Chat Scam - You Didn't See the Horrible Vids of U

 +
Facebook Chat Scam - You Didn't See the Horrible Vids of U

Would you share this Article with others?

The Facebook chat message: "omg tell me your there - you didn't see the horrible vids of u," which appears as if it came from a Facebook friends, is a scam designed to steal the recipients’ username and password. This scam will attempt to trick the recipients of the message into clicking on a link within it, which will take them to a fake Facebook website and ask them to sign in.

The scammers convince the recipients into clicking on the malicious link by claiming there is a horrible video of the recipients, and the recipients can view the video by clicking on the malicious link. But, there is no video.

The Facebook Chat Conversion Scam

Friend: ? omg tell me your there.

You: Hi ?. What's up?

Friend: you didn't see the horrible vids of u?

You: Nope. What are you talking about?

Friend: well here http://?.fbcrazys.com

The "?" in the message above, represents the Facebook user's name

Now, the link in the chat message will take the recipients to the malicious and fake Facebook website: www.fbcrazys.com.

malicious and fake Facebook website: fbcrazys.com

If the recipients enter their Facebook username and password on the fake Facebook website, it will be sent to the scammers behind this fake message. Once the scammers receive their victims' username and password, they will use it to access their Facebook accounts and send the same malicious message to their Facebook friends.

This way, the message will appear as if it came from the victims, and the victims' friends will not hesitate to click on the malicious link, because the message appeared as if it was sent by their friends.

Also, the link may redirect the recipients to malicious Facebook applications that will ask them to grant permission or access to their accounts. If recipients do, the malicious Facebook applications will send the same message or malicious links to all of their Facebook friends.

If you were tricked by the malicious Facebook chat message, or think you were, please follow the instructions below:

If you are taken to a website, which looks like www.facebook.com, and ask to sign in with your user name and password, please look at your web browser's address bar and ensure that it says: "www.facebook.com".

If you look at the image above, you will notice that the website address is 329233.fbcrazys.com, and not www.facebook.com, although the web page looks like Facebook sign-in page.

This is only way that you can tell if you are on the legitimate Facebook website, and not some fake, created to steal your Facebook user name and password, which will be used to hijack your account and use it for illegal purposes.

Note: Some of the names, addresses, email addresses, telephone numbers or other information in samples on this website may have been impersonated or spoofed.

Please share what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Also, check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any.

Remember to forward suspicious, malicious, or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: info@onlinethreatalerts.com

Also, report missing persons, scams, untrustworthy, or fraudulent websites to us. Tell us why you consider the websites untrustworthy or fraudulent.

If you want to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search engine.

You can help maintain Online Threat Alerts (OTA) by paying a service fee. Click here to make payment.

Comments, Questions, Answers, or Reviews
There are no comments as yet, please leave one below or revisit.

To help protect your privacy, please do not post or remove, your full name, telephone number, email address, username, password, account number, credit card information, home address or other sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews.

Write Your Comment, Question, Answer, or Review
Write your comment, question, answer, or review in the box below to share what you know or to get answers. NB: We will use your IP address to display your approximate location to other users.
Your comment, question, answer, or review will be posted as an anonymous user because you are not signed in. Anonymous posts cannot be edited or deleted. Sign-in.

More on Online Threat Alerts (OTA):
Facebook Chat Scam - You Didn't See the Horrible Vids of U