Warning! JavaScript is turned off or disabled! Some features on this website will not work.
« »
»
Advertisements

Beware of "Yahoo! Notice - Confirm Your Mailbox - Account Suspension Initiated" Phishing Scam

2016-05-26T17:40:50 -  +
Beware of "Yahoo! Notice - Confirm Your Mailbox - Account Suspension Initiated" Phishing Scam

The email message below with the subject: "Yahoo! Notice: Confirm Your Mailbox," which claims that an automated request to temporarily suspend the recipients’ mailboxes has been initiated, is a phishing scam. The fake email message is being sent by cybercriminals to trick Yahoo users into sending them their Yahoo account credentials, by asking them to click on a link in the same email message that goes to a phishing Yahoo website. The phishing website, which looks exactly like Yahoo's sign-in page, will ask potential victims to sign-in with their Yahoo accounts credential, but once potential victims attempt to sign-in, their Yahoo account credentials will be sent to the cybercriminals responsible for the fake website. The cybercriminals will then use the stolen credentials to hijack their victims' Yahoo accounts and use them fraudulently.

Please continue reading below.

Advertisements

The Phishing Yahoo Notice Email Message

From: "Yahoo! Mail" heiko-simon@t-online .de
Subject: Yahoo! Notice: Confirm Your Mailbox

Account Suspension Initiated

Hi,

An automated request to temporary suspend your mailbox was initiated today 25th, MAY. 2016.

Yahoo! is undergoing authentication process and you are required to comply as instructed.

Click on this link to authenticate and cancel the termination request within 48hrs.

Once the information provided matches the records on our database, your account will function normal again.

Best Regards,

Yahoo!

You received this mandatory email service announcement to update you about important changes to your Yahoo product or account.

Yahoo users should never click on a link in an email message to sign into their accounts. It is recomended that they go directly to www.yahoo.com or mail.yahoo.com, and sign into their accounts from there. If there is something wrong with their accounts, they will be notified after signing in. Going directly to Yahoo's website is the best way to protect against phishing scams created by cybercriminals to steal online account credentials (user names and passwords).

Please continue reading below.

Advertisements

Please share with us what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Also, check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any.

Remember to forward suspicious, malicious, or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: info@onlinethreatalerts.com

Also, report scams, untrustworthy, or fraudulent websites to us. Tell us why you consider the websites untrustworthy or fraudulent.

If you want to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search engine.

Comments, Questions and Reviews ✍
(Total: 2)

To help protect your privacy, please do not post or remove, your full name, telephone number, email address, username, password, account number, credit card information, home address or other sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews.

↓ Show More of the 2 Comments ↓

Write Your Comment, Question or Review

Write your comment, question or review in the box below to share what you know or to get answers. Please revisit after an hour or more to view reponses or answers to you questions.

Your comment, question or review will be posted as an anonymous user because you are not signed in. Sign-in.


The comments or reviews below do not necessarily reflect the views of Online Threat Alerts.

  • Posted: 2017-05-31T14:41:44 by info

    This is the message I received from a fraudulent Yahoo account:

    "You Requested to Shut down your AT&T, Did you initiate this Action? If No, Kindly Cancel Request below by clicking the Cancel Request icon below your account will be automatically restored to it's normal AT&T! settings."

    Then there was a "Cancel Request" button to click on.

    delete


  • Posted: 2017-05-31T14:35:16 by an anonymous user from or near: Green Bay, Wisconsin, United States

    This is the email request I received:

    "You Requested to Shut down your AT&T, Did you initiate this Action? If No, Kindly Cancel Request below by clicking the Cancel Request icon below your account will be automatically restored to it's normal AT&T! settings."

    Then there was a button to "Cancel Request"

    delete