»

Beware of Facebook "Mentioned You in a Comment" Malicious Message Notifications

 +
Beware of Facebook "Mentioned You in a Comment" Malicious Message Notifications

Would you share this article with others?

Facebook users are advised to delete message notifications that appear to have been sent by friends, claiming to have mentioned them in a comment on Facebook. This is because the message notifications are fakes and are malicious. The malicious messages have links, when clicked, will download and infect the victims’ computers or devices with a virus, spyware or some other malware. The infected computers or devices will hijack the victims’ Facebook accounts and use them to send the same fake and malicious message to their friends, in an attempt to infect their computers or devices.

Infected computer or devices can be used to send phishing messages to the owners’ Facebook friends, which will steal their online account credentials, personal and financial information.

Note: users of Android and iOS mobile devices are immune since the malware used libraries which are not compatible with these mobile operating systems.

Kaspersky Lab, a software security group that discovered the threat, recommends that online users who think that they may have been infected, to run a malware scan on their computers, or open their Chrome web browser and look for unexpected extensions. If there are unexpected extensions present, they should log out of their Facebook accounts, close the browser and disconnect the network cable from their computers, and get a professional to check for and clean away the malware.

They also advise online users to follow the basic cyber-safety practices:

  • Install an antimalware solution on all devices and keep OS software up-to-date.
  • Avoid clicking on links in messages from people you don’t know, or in unexpected messages from friends.
  • Exercise caution at all times when online and on social media networks: if something looks even slightly suspicious, it probably is.
  • Implement appropriate privacy settings on social media networks such as Facebook.

Note: Some of the names, addresses, email addresses and telephone numbers in email samples on this website may have been impersonated.

Please share what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Also, check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any.

Remember to forward suspicious, malicious, or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: info@onlinethreatalerts.com

Also, report missing persons, scams, untrustworthy, or fraudulent websites to us. Tell us why you consider the websites untrustworthy or fraudulent.

If you want to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search engine.

You can help maintain Online Threat Alerts by paying a service fee. Click here to make payment.

Comments, Questions, Answers, or Reviews
There are no comments as yet, please leave one below or revisit.

To help protect your privacy, please do not post or remove, your full name, telephone number, email address, username, password, account number, credit card information, home address or other sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews.

Write Your Comment, Question, Answer, or Review
Write your comment, question, answer, or review in the box below to share what you know or to get answers. NB: We will use your IP address to display your approximate location to other users.
Your comment, question, answer, or review will be posted as an anonymous user because you are not signed in. Anonymous posts cannot be edited or deleted. Sign-in.

Beware of Facebook "Mentioned You in a Comment" Malicious Message Notifications