Previous    Next
Warning: JavaScript is turned off! Some features on this website will not work without it.

Beware of "Facebook Account Limitation" Phishing Scam

Beware of "Facebook Account Limitation" Phishing Scam

Facebook users who have received the email message below with the subject: "Facebook Account Limitation," should delete it. This is because the email message, which claims that the recipients' Facebook account details are not up to date, and this will cause their activities to be limited and their account temporarily suspended, is a phishing scam being sent by cyber-criminals. The phishing scam or fake email message is being used by cybercriminals to steal Facebook users' account credential, by tricking them into visiting a fake Facebook website and asking them to sign-in.

Please continue reading below.

But, visitors to the fake Facebook website who attempt to sign-in, will cause their Facebook account credentials (usernames and passwords) to be sent to the same cyber-criminals who have created the fake email message and website. The cyber-criminals will then use the stolen credentials to gain access their victims’ Facebook accounts and use the accounts fraudulently. They will use the Facebook accounts to sent fake messages with links to malicious and phishing websites to the victims' Facebook friends.

The Phishing "Facebook Account Limitation" Email Message

-----Original Message-----

From: Facebook mamonn@t-online.de

Sent: Sun, Mar 5, 2017 10:47 am

Subject: Facebook Account Limitation! (Do Not Ignore)

Facebook

Hi,

Some of your Facebook account details are not up to date we have limited your activities. Update your Facebook account details for upgrade today.

Update your account now

Failure to complete the update before April 10, 2017 might lead to temporary suspension of your account.

Thanks,

The Facebook Security Team

Facebook users should always go directly to www.facebook.com to sign into their accounts or use Facebook mobile app, when they receive email notifications, instead of clicking on the links in the same email notification. Once they have signed in, they will be notified of changes or updates. Doing this will prevent Facebook users from becoming victims of phishing scams.

Facebook users, who were tricked by the phishing email messages, should change their passwords immediately, before their accounts are hijacked or use fraudulently. And, if they are unable to gain access to their accounts because they have hijacked, they may click here to recover their accounts.

Please share with us what you know or ask a question about this article, by leaving a comment below. And, forward malicious email messages to us using the following email address: info@onlinethreatalerts.com .

Tell us if you LIKE this article by clicking the following thumbs-up, or click the thumbs-down if you dislike it:

       Rating - Thumb up          Rating - Thumb down 0   
Alert and help your family and friends by sharing this article with them:
Submit Your Comment or Question

Submit your comment or question in the box below to share what you know or to get answers about this article.

CommentComments or Questions (0)