Warning! JavaScript is turned off or disabled! Some features on this website will not work.
« »
»
Advertisements

Beware of "Upgrade to Yahoo Mail 9.1" Phishing Email Scam

2017-05-04T09:07:15 -  +
Beware of "Upgrade to Yahoo Mail 9.1" Phishing Email Scam

Yahoo users, if you have received email messages claiming that you need to upgrade to Yahoo Mail 9.1 and threaten to terminate your accounts if you do not, please delete the same email messages, and do not follow the instructions in them. This is because the email messages are phishing scams being sent by cyber criminals to trick Yahoo users into clicking on the link in them, which goes to phishing websites that steal Yahoo usernames and passwords.

Please continue reading below.

Advertisements

A Sample of the "Upgrade to Yahoo Mail 9.1" Email Scam

On Thu, May 4, 2017 at 9:08 AM, YAHOO ACCOUNT
<rgspring@comcast.net> wrote:

Dear Customer,

Your Mail version is outdated, failure to Upgrade to the newest Yahoo Mail 9.1 now will result in a permanent account closure.

According to provision 17.9 of Terms and Conditions, Yahoo may at any time terminate its services for accounts!

Click here to upgrade and accept our new terms and conditions.

Thanks for taking these additional steps to keep your account safe.

Yahoo! Mail Team

Yahoo users should never click on a link to sign into their accounts; they should instead, go directly to mail.yahoo.com or yahoo.com and sign-in from there. Once they are signed in, they will be alerted to updates, changes or other important notifications. Going directly to Yahoo’s website to sign into their accounts, will protect Yahoo users from phishing links that go to fake websites that steal usernames and passwords. Phishing websites steal their visitors’ usernames and passwords by asking them to sign into their accounts on the same fake website. Once visitors to the websites attempt to sign-in, their usernames and passwords (credentials) will be sent to the cybercriminals responsible for the phishing websites. As soon as the cyber criminals receive their potential victims’ usernames and passwords, they will sign into their accounts, hijack and use them fraudulently.

Yahoo users who have been tricked by the "Upgrade to Yahoo Mail 9.1" email scam, are asked to change their Yahoo passwords immediately before their accounts are hijacked and used fraudulently.

Related article:

Please share with us what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Also, check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any.

Remember to forward suspicious, malicious, or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: info@onlinethreatalerts.com

Also, report scams, untrustworthy, or fraudulent websites to us. Tell us why you consider the websites untrustworthy or fraudulent.

If you want to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search engine.

Remember to help us, help you, by donating. 🎁Click here to donate

Please continue reading below.

Advertisements
Comments, Questions and Reviews ✍
(Total: 2)

To help protect your privacy, please do not post or remove, your full name, telephone number, email address, username, password, account number, credit card information, home address or other sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews.

The comments or reviews below do not necessarily reflect the views of Online Threat Alerts.

  • Posted: Jul 26, 2017 12:53 PM by an anonymous user from or near: Houston, Texas, United States

    Sadly, I answered the 'threat to close my account if I didn't upgrade to 7.1.....What precautions do I take now? They're threatening to cancel my account!!
    What do I do? and, is my account/computer in danger.

    delete


    • Posted: Jul 26, 2017 1:18 PM by info

      Change your Yahoo account password before your account is hijacked.

      delete


↓ Show More of the 2 Comments ↓

Write Your Comment, Question or Review

Write your comment, question or review in the box below to share what you know or to get answers. Please revisit after an hour or more to view reponses or answers to you questions.

Your comment, question or review will be posted as an anonymous user because you are not signed in. Sign-in.


Advertisements