Warning! JavaScript is turned off or disabled! Some features on this website will not work.
« »
»

Beware of "Yahoo Ticket Abuse of Service Suspension-Alert" Phishing Scam

2017-06-01T21:31:41 -  +
Beware of "Yahoo Ticket Abuse of Service Suspension-Alert" Phishing Scam

Yahoo users who have received so-called suspension alert email messages like the one below claiming their accounts have been temporarily locked and will be permanently blocked, should not click on the link within them. This is because the email messages are phishing scams being sent by cyber criminals to their potential victims in an attempt to trick them into visiting a phishing website that steals email account usernames and passwords.

Advertisements

The "Yahoo Ticket Abuse of Service Suspension-Alert" Phishing Scam

From: Yahoo Mail <account-suspension@notification-cc.ymail.com>

To: noreply@yahoo.com

Sent: Thursday, 1 June 2017, 7:12

Subject: Ticket #77667768 Abuse of service [Suspension-Alert]

YAHOO!

Dear Valued User,

This is a final reminder before your account gets permanently blocked. Your account was recently logged in from an unusual device or location. For your protection, we've temporarily locked your account until you can review this activity and make sure no one is using your account without your permission.

Confirm Your Email

You are advised to quickly verify your account to avoid permanent suspension. For more information, visit our Help Center by clicking "Confirm Your Email" to Verify your account.

Your mailbox security is our primary concern.

Tips:

This message is sent by an automated machine. Please do not reply.

Thanks,

Replies sent to this email address cannot be answered. For additional help, please contact us at 1(800) 730-2669.

If the link in the phishing email message is clicked by the recipients, they will be taken to a phishing website and ask to sign-in. If they attempt to do so, their Yahoo account credentials (usernames and passwords) will be sent to the cybercriminals behind the scam. Once the cybercriminals have gotten the stolen credentials, they will gain access to the accounts, hijack them, and use them fraudulently.

Therefore, Yahoo users who have received email messages with a link to update their information or make changes to their accounts should always go directly to mail.yahoo.com and sign into their accounts instead of clicking on the link. Once Yahoo users have signed into their accounts, they will be noticed of changes or updates, if there are any. Going directly to mail.yahoo.com and signing in from there is only guaranteed way of preventing Yahoo users from becoming victims of phishing scams.

Yahoo users who have already been tricked by the phishing scam are asked change their passwords immediately before their accounts are hijacked and used fraudulently. If their accounts have already been hijacked by cybercriminals, they can click here for instructions to regain access to their accounts.

Please share what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Also, check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any.

Remember to forward suspicious, malicious, or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: info@onlinethreatalerts.com

Also, report missing persons, scams, untrustworthy, or fraudulent websites to us. Tell us why you consider the websites untrustworthy or fraudulent.

If you want to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search engine.

Remember to help us, help you, by donating. 🎁Click here to donate

Advertisements
Comments, Questions and Reviews ✍
(Total: 0)

To help protect your privacy, please do not post or remove, your full name, telephone number, email address, username, password, account number, credit card information, home address or other sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews.

Show More Comments (0)
Write Your Comment, Question or Review
Write your comment, question or review in the box below to share what you know or to get answers. Please revisit after an hour or more to view reponses or answers to you questions.

Your comment, question or review will be posted as an anonymous user because you are not signed in. Sign-in.