Warning! JavaScript is turned off or disabled! Some features on this website will not work.
Alerts left arrow right arrow   

Beware of "Microsoft Office 365 De-activation Notice" Phishing Scams

Comments  +
Beware of "Microsoft Office 365 De-activation Notice" Phishing Scams

Microsoft users are asked to delete fake email messages like the one below, which claim that Microsoft will be shutting several email accounts if they are not verified. The fake email messages are being sent by cybercriminals to frighten and trick the recipients into clicking on the link within them. The link goes to a phishing website or a fake website looking like Microsoft’s website, created by cybercriminals to trick potential victims into signing in. But, any attempts to sign into the fake website, will result in the victims’ Microsoft account usernames and passwords being sent to cybercriminals.

Please continue below.

A Sample of the "Microsoft Office 365 De-activation Notice" Phishing Scam

From: Email management Team [mailto:wendywang005@netscape.com]

Sent: Tuesday, July 18, 2017 8:40 AM

To: serviceone@microsoft.com

Subject: De-activation Notice

Office 365

Office 2017 is the latest version of Microsoft’s productivity apps, such as Word, PowerPoint, Excel, and Outlook. You can upgrade the Office 365 with the new and enhanced features of Office 2017 by upgrading from the Office 2016 version of Office 365 to the Office 2017 version.

For more information, see Overview of upgrade for Office 365.

Sincerely,

The Microsoft Online Services Team

Microsoft respects your privacy. Please read our online Privacy Statement.

You are receiving this email because you have subscribed to Microsoft Office 365.

Once cybercriminals have gotten their potential victims’ account credentials (usernames and passwords), they will use it to hijack their Microsoft accounts and use them fraudulently. Therefore, recipients of the phishing email message (see below) who were tricked into clicking on the link within it and have attempted to sign into the phishing or fake website that they were taken, are asked to change their Microsoft account passwords immediately, before they are hijacked and used fraudulently by cyber criminals.

Microsoft users should never click on a link to sign into their accounts, they should instead, go directly to https://account.microsoft.com/ and sign-in from there. If there is something that needs to be done to their accounts, they will be notified. This is will prevent Microsoft users from visiting phishing websites disguised as legitimate Microsoft website that steals account credentials.

Please share with us what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Also, check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any.

Remember to forward malicious or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: info@onlinethreatalerts.com

Share this on:

and/or ContributionDonate

Would you recommend this article to a friend or family member?
Yes (0) No (0)   

Comments, Questions and Reviews
Comment(Total: 1)

To help protect your privacy, please do not post your full name, telephone number, email address, username, password, account number, credit card information or home address in your comments, questions, or reviews.

Write a Comment, Review, or ask a Question or scroll down to view comments, reviews and questions made by others.

The comments or reviews below do not necessarily reflect the views of Online Threat Alerts.

  • Posted: Jan 10, 2018 by info

    Here is another scam:

    ---------- Forwarded message ----------
    "From: "Microsoft.com Office 365" <bradknotek@msn.com>
    Date: 11 Jan 2018 11:42 AM
    Subject: Re: EMAIL DE-ACTIVATION !!

    Microsoft Support.

    Your account will be closed in the next 48 hours if not updated to the new version.

    Click Here to Update

    Thank you.
    Microsoft Support.
    Copyright 2018 Inc"

    delete


Submit Comment Write Your Comment, Question or Review

Write your comment, question or review in the box below to share what you know or to get answers. Please revisit after an hour or more to view reponses or answers to you questions.
All comments, questions or reviews will be examined for derogatory or indecent statements, spam or malicous code, before they are posted on this website.