Warning! JavaScript is turned off or disabled! Some features on this website will not work.
Previous Next
»

Warning! "Yahoo Request to Shut Down Mail" is a Phishing Scam

2017-08-14T13:55:18 -  +
Warning! "Yahoo Request to Shut Down Mail" is a Phishing Scam

Yahoo users who have received email messages like the one below, which claim that a request to shut down their accounts has been received, and they need to click on a link in the same email messages to cancel the request, is a phishing scam. The email messages are being sent by cyber criminals to trick the recipients into clicking on the link in them, which go to a phishing website disguised as Yahoo's legitimate website. Now, any attempt by visitors to sign into the phishing website will result in their Yahoo account credentials being sent to the cybercriminals behind the scam. Once the cyber criminals have received their potential victims' account credentials, they will use it to gain access to their accounts and use them fraudulently.

Advertisements

A Sample of a "Yahoo Request to Shut Down Mail" Phishing Scam

From: Yahoo! Mail <fzhang@apotex.com>

Sent: Monday, August 14, 2017 5:37 AM

Subject: **Final Announcement**

Yahoo! Mail

Dear Subscribers,

You Requested to Shut down your mail, Did you initiate this Action? If No, Kindly Cancel Request below by clicking the Cancel Request icon below your account will be automatically restored to it's normal Yahoo! settings

Cancel Request

Thanks for choosing Yahoo.

Regards,

Yahoo! Mail Team

To protect against phishing scams, Yahoo users should never click on a link to sign into their accounts, they should instead go directly to https://login.yahoo.com/ or use the Yahoo mobile app. Once they have signed in, they will be notified of important requests or updates.

Yahoo users who have been tricked by phishing scams are asked to change their password immediately before their accounts are hijacked and used fraudulently. For Yahoo users whose accounts have already been hijacked, they can click here for instructions to recover their accounts.

Yahoo users may add two-step verification for extra security. Two-step verification is another layer of security that uses your password plus a code to verify your identity when they sign in to their accounts on a new, unrecognized device for the first time. Yahoo will send their cell phone a code by text or phone call that only they will have access to. Click here to learn more about Yahoo Two-step verification or authentication and how to add to your account.

Please share what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Also, check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any.

Remember to forward suspicious, malicious, or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: info@onlinethreatalerts.com

Also, report missing persons, scams, untrustworthy, or fraudulent websites to us. Tell us why you consider the websites untrustworthy or fraudulent.

If you want to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search engine.

Remember to help us, help you, by donating. 🎁Click here to donate

Advertisements
Comments, Questions and Reviews
(Total: 1)

To help protect your privacy, please do not post or remove, your full name, telephone number, email address, username, password, account number, credit card information, home address or other sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews. And, when you post a comment or review, we will use your IP address to display your approximate location to other users.

The comments or reviews below do not necessarily reflect the views of Online Threat Alerts.

  • Posted: Oct 2, 2017 at 7:02 PM by info

    Here is another scam:

    "-------- Original Message --------
    Subject: New Version
    From: "Y.A.H.O.O CUSTOMER CENTER"
    Sent: Monday, October 2, 2017, 1:21 PM

    You Recently Initiated an Action on your Bellsouth account to Shut down your Account, Did you initiate this Action? If No, Kindly Cancel Request below by clicking the Cancel Request icon below log on to your account and your account will be automatically restored to it's normal Bellsouth settings. This will enable you to enjoy better.

    Cancel Request

    Thanks for choosing Yahoo.
    Regards,
    At&t! Mail Team"

    delete


 Show More Comments (1)
Write Your Comment, Question or Review
Write your comment, question or review in the box below to share what you know or to get answers. Please revisit after an hour or more to view reponses or answers to you questions.

Your comment, question or review will be posted as an anonymous user because you are not signed in. Sign-in.