Warning! JavaScript is turned off or disabled! Some features on this website will not work.
« »
»

Beware of "Your Recent Download with Your Apple ID" Phishing Scam

2017-09-05T04:36:09 -  +
Beware of "Your Recent Download with Your Apple ID" Phishing Scam

The email message below, which claims the recipients' Apple IDs have been used to download OS Maps from iTunes Store on a computer or device that is not associated with their Apple IDs, is a phishing scam. The phishing email message is being sent by cybercriminals to trick Apple users into clicking on the link in it. The link in the email message goes to a fake Apple website that will ask visitors to sign-in. Once visitors attempt to sign into the fake website with their Apple user names and passwords, the same information will be sent to the cybercriminals behind the phishing scam.

Please continue reading below.

The "Your Recent Download with Your Apple ID" Phishing Scam

Subject: Re: Your recent download with your Apple ID

Apple Recent Download

Dear,

Your Apple ID, has just been used to download OS Maps from the iTunes Store on a computer or device that had not previously been associated with your Apple ID. You may also be receiving this email if you reset your password since your last purchase.

If you initiated this download, you can disregard this email. It was only sent to alert you in case you had not initiated this download yourself.

If you did not initiate this download, we recommend that you go to iforgot.apple.com to change your password, then see Apple ID: Security and your Apple ID for further assistance.

Sincerely,

Apple

Apple

Apple ID Summary • Terms of Sale • Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2017 Apple Distribution International,

All rights reserved

Once the cybercriminals have received the stolen Apple usernames and passwords, they will use it to hijack their potential victims’ Apple accounts and use them fraudulently. Therefore, Apple users who have been tricked by the phishing scam are asked to change their Apple accounts' password, check their accounts for discrepancies and contact Apple for help if any is found.

This is another reason why Apple user should never click on links in email or other messages to sign into their accounts, they should instead, go directly to https://appleid.apple.com/ and sign-in from there. If there is something that needs to be done their accounts, they will be notified after signing in.

Please share what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Also, check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any.

Remember to forward suspicious, malicious, or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: info@onlinethreatalerts.com

Also, report missing persons, scams, untrustworthy, or fraudulent websites to us. Tell us why you consider the websites untrustworthy or fraudulent.

If you want to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search engine.

Remember to help us, help you, by donating. 🎁Click here to donate

Please continue reading below.

Comments, Questions and Reviews ✍
(Total: 0)

To help protect your privacy, please do not post or remove, your full name, telephone number, email address, username, password, account number, credit card information, home address or other sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews.

Show More of the 0 Comments

Write Your Comment, Question or Review

Write your comment, question or review in the box below to share what you know or to get answers. Please revisit after an hour or more to view reponses or answers to you questions.

Your comment, question or review will be posted as an anonymous user because you are not signed in. Sign-in.