The "Yahoo Account Deactivation Request" Phishing Scam
From: The Yahoo Accounts <firstname.lastname@example.org>
Sent: Tuesday, November 13, 2018, 12:36:07 PM MST
Subject: Account Deactivation Request
The request was received from your yahoo account on November 12, 2018 23:15 GMT.
Sometimes these requests are made in error. If this deactivation was not requested by you, we ask that you submit your password in reply to this email.
Once the current password on the account is verified the deactivation request will be canceled and your account will remain active.
Be advised, once an account is deactivated it cannot be recovered.
Thank You, The yahoo Team
The link in the phishing email message goes to a fake or phishing Yahoo website, which will attempt to trick the potential victims into entering their usernames and passwords on it. If Yahoo users attempt to sign into phishing website with their Yahoo usernames and passwords, it will be sent to the cybercriminals behind the email scam, who will use the information to hijack their accounts. The hijacked Yahoo accounts will then be used by cybercriminals fraudulently.
Remember, if you receive email messages like these, please go directly to your email account at https://mail.yahoo.com, instead of clicking on the links in the email messages. If some needs to be done to your account, it will be shown to you after signing in. And, if you were tricked by one of these phishing scams, please change your password immediately before your Yahoo account is hijacked and used fraudulently.
Check the comment section below for additional information, share what you know, or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. And, to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search
Note: Some of the information in samples on this website may have been impersonated or spoofed.
Comments, Questions, Answers, or Reviews
To protect your privacy, please do not post or remove sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews. NB: We will use your IP address to display your approximate location to other users. That location is not enough to find you.
Your comment, answer, or review will be set as anonymous because you are not signed in. An anonymous comment, answer, or review cannot be edited or deleted, therefore, review it carefully before posting. Sign-in.
Show More Comments (3)
Write Your Comment, Question, Answer, or Review
Recommendation / Advertisement