Warning! JavaScript is turned off or disabled! Some features on this website will not work.
« »
»

Beware of "Apple iCloud Storage Cancel or Downgrade Order Notification" Phishing Scams

2018-05-20T00:17:55 -  +
Beware of "Apple iCloud Storage Cancel or Downgrade Order Notification" Phishing Scams

Apple customers are asked to be aware of fake "Apple Cancel or Downgrade Order Notification" iTunes invoices (see below), which claim that they have purchased iCloud storage, and if they did not authorize the purchases or payments they should cancel or downgrade it. The fake email invoices are being sent by scammers to frighten and trick the recipients into clicking on the links within them by claiming they need to do so in order to cancel the purchases and get a refund. But, once the recipients click on the link in the fake email invoices, they will be taken to a phishing website that steals personal, financial, and Apple credentials (usernames and passwords).

Therefore, Apple customers who have received email invoices appearing as if they were sent from Apple, should avoid clicking on the links in them. They should instead, sign directly into the iTunes Store on their iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, Mac, PC, or Apple TV and check their accounts.

Sample of an "Apple iCloud Storage Cancel or Downgrade Order Notification" Phishing Scam

From: Apple Billing <secured-uppds-account-auth-lang-en-sxvefdertdcfsdauth13 @janganpanik.net>

Sent: Saturday, May 19, 2018 2:58:22 PM

Subject: RE : [Alerts - Recent Activity] Your payment has been Scheduled [CONFIRMATION]

Dear Client,

This email confirms payment for the iCloud storage plan listed below. You will be billed each month unless you cancel. *To cancel, downgrade your storage plan from your iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, Mac, or PC.

Order ID : SN8S97DG028

Date of Purchase : Saturday, May 19, 2018

Payment Method : iTunes

Item : 2 TB Storage

Subtotal : $19.99

Tax : $0

Total : $19.99

You may cancel or downgrade from your device at any time. You may contact Apple for a full refund within 7 days of a monthly subscription upgrade or within 15 days after a yearly payment. Partial refunds are available where required by law.

Click For Cancel or Downgrade >

*Please feel free to use support. You can check the details of the product, download the latest software update, share hints and solutions with other users. Also,You can choose the method that is most suitable for you.

TM and Copyright © 2018 Apple Inc. All rights reserved.

Apple ID | Support | Privacy Policy

Recipients of the email voices claiming that they have ordered a product they did not, and who have clicked on the link in them, should change their Apple password and contact Apple Support for help. And, the best protection against phishing scams is to avoid clicking on links in email messages, social media messages, and text messages to sign into online accounts.

Please share what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Also, check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any.

Remember to forward suspicious, malicious, or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: info@onlinethreatalerts.com

Also, report missing persons, scams, untrustworthy, or fraudulent websites to us. Tell us why you consider the websites untrustworthy or fraudulent.

If you want to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search engine.

Remember to help us, help you, by donating. 🎁Click here to donate

Comments, Questions and Reviews ✍
(Total: 0)

To help protect your privacy, please do not post or remove, your full name, telephone number, email address, username, password, account number, credit card information, home address or other sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews.

Show More of the 0 Comments
Write Your Comment, Question or Review
Write your comment, question or review in the box below to share what you know or to get answers. Please revisit after an hour or more to view reponses or answers to you questions.

Your comment, question or review will be posted as an anonymous user because you are not signed in. Sign-in.