Warning! JavaScript is turned off or disabled! Some features on this website will not work.
»

Scam - "Microsoft Email Upgrade to Version 3.0.1" is a Phishing Scam

2018-07-11T05:37:12 -  +
Scam - "Microsoft Email Upgrade to Version 3.0.1" is a Phishing Scam

The "Microsoft Email Upgrade to Version 3.0.1" email message below, which claims that the recipients' email accounts will no longer work if they do not upgrade to version 3.0.1, is a phishing scam created to steal Microsoft Outlook or Hotmail usernames and passwords. The fake email message was not sent by Microsoft, but by cyber-criminals, whose intentions are to hijack email accounts and use them for malicious purposes. So, recipients of the same email message are advised to delete it, and not follow the instructions in it.

Advertisements

The "Microsoft Email Upgrade to Version 3.0.1" Phishing Scam

From: Microsoft.com Team <nataly_sd@hotmail.com>

Date: July 10, 2018 at 9:23:00 PM PDT

To: "MicrosoftOffice365@email.office.com" <MicrosoftOffice365@email.office.com>

Subject: Email upgrade

You have new email version to upgrade

Your mail version 2.0.1 is currently being discontinued from sending and receiving incoming emails, and will no longer work from July 13th, 2018.

To upgrade to version 3.0.1 for free, kindly follow the upgrade information below: It will only take a few seconds.

Upgrade to version 3.0.1 now

Regards,

Service Team.

The link in the email message goes to a fake Outlook or Microsoft website, which will attempt to trick the cyber-criminals' potential victims into entering their usernames and passwords on it. If the potential victims enter their Microsoft Outlook, Hotmail, Live usernames and passwords on the fake website, it will be sent to the cybercriminals behind the email scam, who will use the information to hijack their accounts.

If you have received the same email message, please go directly to your email account instead of clicking on the links in the email message. And, if there is anything wrong with your account, it will be shown to you after signing in. If you were tricked by the phishing email, please change your Microsoft Hotmail/Live/Outlook immediately. If you are unable to, click here to report it to Microsoft.

Please share what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Also, check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any.

Remember to forward suspicious, malicious, or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: info@onlinethreatalerts.com

Also, report missing persons, scams, untrustworthy, or fraudulent websites to us. Tell us why you consider the websites untrustworthy or fraudulent.

If you want to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search engine.

Remember to help us, help you, by donating. 🎁Click here to donate

Advertisements
Comments, Questions and Reviews
(Total: 2)

To help protect your privacy, please do not post or remove, your full name, telephone number, email address, username, password, account number, credit card information, home address or other sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews. And, when you post a comment or review, we will use your IP address to display your approximate location to other users.

The comments or reviews below do not necessarily reflect the views of Online Threat Alerts.

  • Posted: Oct 22, 2018 at 10:54 AM by an anonymous user from or near: Spencerport, New York, United States

    I changed my hotmail address after receiving this message. Do I have to change it in Outlook/Live also. Are these three different logins?

    delete


    • Posted: Oct 22, 2018 at 12:32 PM by info

      There is no need to change your email address. If you were tricked by the phishing scam, we recommend changing your password.

      delete


 Show More Comments (2)
Write Your Comment, Question or Review
Write your comment, question or review in the box below to share what you know or to get answers. Please revisit after an hour or more to view reponses or answers to you questions.

Your comment, question or review will be posted as an anonymous user because you are not signed in. Sign-in.