»

Fake Yahoo Account Closure Notifications Sent by Cybercriminals

 +
Fake Yahoo Account Closure Notifications Sent by Cybercriminals

Would you share this Article with others?

Yahoo users who have received fake account closure notifications like the one below, which ask them to upgrade or update their accounts, or else their accounts will be closed, shut down or suspended, should delete the email messages. This is because Yahoo users do not need to upgrade or update their accounts because all of that is taken care of for them by the Yahoo team. Yahoo is a web-based email provider, this means that users do not need to do any forms of updates, upgrades or changes to their accounts because their accounts are in the cloud. This is why we ask Yahoo users to delete all email messages which claim they should upgrade or update their accounts because they are phishing scams. Also, Yahoo users should not follow the instructions in the same email messages.

A Fake Yahoo Account Closure Notification

Subject: ACCOUNT CLOSURE (DO NOT IGNORE)

Prior to Yahoo! Users

"Starting on April 18, 2019, YAHOO! customers who have not updated their email account will no longer be able to log in to their Yahoo and through email addresses.

Customers will have to Verify their email address to confirm

kindly click on the attachment re-login and verify, we apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Thank you,

Yahoo online service

To protect against phishing scams, Yahoo users should never click on a link to sign into their accounts, they should instead go directly to https://login.yahoo.com/ or use the Yahoo mobile app.

Also, Yahoo users may add two-step verification for extra security. Two-step verification is another layer of security that uses your password plus a code to verify your identity when they sign in to their accounts on a new, unrecognized device for the first time. Yahoo will send their cell phone a code by text or phone call that only they will have access to. Click here to learn more about Yahoo Two-step verification or authentication and how to add to your account.

Yahoo users who have been tricked by phishing scams are asked to change their password immediately before their accounts are hijacked and used fraudulently. For Yahoo users whose accounts have already been hijacked, they can click here for instructions to recover their accounts.

Note: Some of the names, addresses, email addresses, telephone numbers or other information in samples on this website may have been impersonated or spoofed.

Please share what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Also, check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any.

Remember to forward suspicious, malicious, or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: info@onlinethreatalerts.com

Also, report missing persons, scams, untrustworthy, or fraudulent websites to us. Tell us why you consider the websites untrustworthy or fraudulent.

If you want to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search engine.

You can help maintain Online Threat Alerts (OTA) by paying a service fee. Click here to make payment.

Comments, Questions, Answers, or Reviews
There are no comments as yet, please leave one below or revisit.

To help protect your privacy, please do not post or remove, your full name, telephone number, email address, username, password, account number, credit card information, home address or other sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews.

Write Your Comment, Question, Answer, or Review
Write your comment, question, answer, or review in the box below to share what you know or to get answers. NB: We will use your IP address to display your approximate location to other users.
Your comment, question, answer, or review will be posted as an anonymous user because you are not signed in. Anonymous posts cannot be edited or deleted. Sign-in.

Fake Yahoo Account Closure Notifications Sent by Cybercriminals