Someone Uploaded Your Pictures Scam Text Message

The "Someone Uploaded Your Pictures" SMS text below is a scam. The scam, which claims someone uploaded pictures of the recipients, is being sent by cybercriminals who are attempting to trick them into clicking the link in it. If the link is clicked by curious recipients, they will be taken to a malicious website that will falsely claim their device is infected with the Flubot malware and instruct them to download a so-called Android security update. But, doing so will infect their device with a real malware that the cybercriminals will use to steal their personal and financial information.

Someone Uploaded Your Pictures Scam Text Message

The Someone Uploaded Your Pictures Text Scam

Someone Uploaded Your Pictures Text Scam

Someone uploaded your pictures. A whole album is uploaded here: hxxp://markette.co /j/?hhfyquwri

If the link in the "Someone Uploaded Your Pictures SMS" scam is clicked, potential victims will be taken to the following fake Flubot scam webpage that displays the fake malware alert.

The Flubot Scam Webpage with Malware

Flubot Scam Webpage with Malware

Your device is infected with the FluBot® malware

Android has detected that your device has been infected.

FluBot is an Android spyware that aims to Steal financial login and password data from your device.

You must install an Android security update to remove FluBot.

Install security update

If visitors to the malicious webpage follow the instructions on the page and attempt to download the so-called Android security update, they will infect their devices with malware that the cybercriminals will use to steal their personal and financial information.

If you were tricked into downloading malware by the "Someone Uploaded Your Pictures SMS" scam, please remove all unknown apps from your device and scan it with the antivirus software installed on it.

The "Someone Uploaded Your Pictures" text message uses curiosity tactics to trick recipients into clicking the malicious link in it. This is why it is important never to hastily click on a link in a suspicious or unexpected text or email messages. Especially, messages that ask you to download apps or submit personal/financial information.

Check the comment section below for additional information, share what you know, or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. And, to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search Search engine.

Note: Some of the information in samples on this website may have been impersonated or spoofed.
Was this article helpful?  +
Share this with others:

Comments, Questions, Answers, or Reviews

Comments (Total: 1)

To protect your privacy, please do not post or remove sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews. NB: We will use your IP address to display your approximate location to other users when you make a post. That location is not enough to find you.

Your comment, answer, or review will be set as anonymous because you are not signed in. An anonymous comment, answer, or review cannot be edited or deleted, therefore, review it carefully before posting. Sign-in.

The comments, reviews or answers below do not necessarily reflect the views of Online Threat Alerts (OTA).

  • October 4, 2021 at 4:51 AM by an anonymous user from: Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

    I got sent the exact same message the other day. I knew 99% it was a scam but not gonna lie was a tad bit curious. Glad I didn't click the link though

Comments Show More Comments (0)

Write Your Comment, Question, Answer, or Review

Someone Uploaded Your Pictures Scam Text Message