Warning! JavaScript is turned off or disabled! Some features on this website will not work.
« »
»
Advertisements

Beware of "Microsoft will Delete and Close Your Account" Phishing Scam

2017-11-03T13:43:10 -  +
Beware of "Microsoft will Delete and Close Your Account" Phishing Scam

Microsft users who have received emails like the one below, which claim that instructions to empty all their Inbox and Sent Folders, and to delete or close their account have been received, is a phishing scam. The scam has been created by cybercriminals to steal Microsoft Outlook or Hotmail usernames and passwords, by tricking potential victims into visiting a fake Microsoft website.

Please continue reading below.

Advertisements

The "Microsoft will Delete & Close Your Account" Phishing Scam

From: Microsoft Team <AHMAD.ABDINE@hotmail.com>

Date: November 3, 2017 at 4:28:14 AM CDT

To: Microsoft account <no-reply@microsoft.com>

Subject: REQUEST CONFIRMATION

Security Information

Hello User,

We received your instruction to empty all your Inbox and Sent Folders

We will Delete & Close Your Account Within 2 hours

You need to confirm if you made this request or we will continue with the request.

If you think it is an error, take action immediately to stop this process.

CANCEL & STOP ACTION NOW

Thank You,

Accounts Team

The link in the email message goes to a fake Microsoft Outlook or Microsoft website, which will ask potential victims to sign-in. But, any attempt to sign-in will result in the potential victims' account credentials being sent to the cyber-criminals behind the scam, who will use the information to hijack their accounts and use them maliciously or fraudulently.

Microsoft users should never click on a link to sign into their accounts, they should instead go directly to their email accounts at www.outlook.com, www.live.com, or www.hotmail.com and sign-in from there. After signing in, if there is something wrong with their accounts, it will be shown to them.

Microsoft users who have already been tricked are asked to change their Microsoft Hotmail/Live/Outlook password immediately. If they are unable to do so, they may click here for help regaining access to their accounts.

Please share with us what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Also, check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any.

Remember to forward suspicious, malicious, or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: info@onlinethreatalerts.com

Also, report scams, untrustworthy, or fraudulent websites to us. Tell us why you consider the websites untrustworthy or fraudulent.

If you want to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search engine.

Remember to help us, help you, by donating. 🎁Click here to donate

Please continue reading below.

Advertisements
Comments, Questions and Reviews ✍
(Total: 1)

To help protect your privacy, please do not post or remove, your full name, telephone number, email address, username, password, account number, credit card information, home address or other sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews.

The comments or reviews below do not necessarily reflect the views of Online Threat Alerts.

  • Posted: Jul 18, 2018 2:12 PM by info

    Here is another scam:
    -- -- -- --

    From: Microsoft (do not reply)
    Sent: Wednesday, July 18, 2018 10:42:07 AM
    Subject: Account Closing Notice

    Dear User,

    We received your instruction to empty all your folders and close your email account. You need to ignore if you made this request or click on CANCEL REQUEST below if not.

    CANCEL REQUEST

    Warning: You will no longer send or receive email if updated response is not received from you within the next 72 hours.

    Thanks for using Microsoft
    Customer Security Microsoft Team.

    delete


Show More of the 1 Comments

Write Your Comment, Question or Review

Write your comment, question or review in the box below to share what you know or to get answers. Please revisit after an hour or more to view reponses or answers to you questions.

Your comment, question or review will be posted as an anonymous user because you are not signed in. Sign-in.


Advertisements