Warning! JavaScript is turned off or disabled! Some features on this website will not work.
« »
»
Advertisements

Beware of "Yahoo Groups Email Termination In Process" Phishing Scam

2017-09-21T10:39:44 -  +
Beware of "Yahoo Groups Email Termination In Process" Phishing Scam

Yahoo users who have received "Termination in Process" email messages like the one below, which claim that their email accounts will be terminated should delete them. This is because the email messages are phishing scams being sent by cybercriminals to trick the recipients into clicking on the links in them that go to phishing websites that steal email account usernames and passwords.

Please continue reading below.

Advertisements

The "Yahoo Groups Email Termination In Process" Phishing Scam

Subject: Warning! Email Termination In Process

Date: Thu, 21 Sep 2017 04:18:15 +0100

From: 'Mail Security' postmaster@server.com [ebook-community] <ebook-community-noreply@yahoogroups.com>

Reply-To: Mail Security <postmaster@server.com>

To: ebook-community-owner@yahoogroups.com

Urgent Server Warning!

We received an instruction few hours ago to terminate your email account (ebook-community-owner@yahoogroups.com) from our server.

You need to confirm you made this request or we will continue with the request.

But if you think it is an error, take action immediately to stop this process, else your email will be closed shortly.

Click here to Stop (ebook-community-owner@yahoogroups.com) shutdown

If you are sure you gave this instruction for your account termination, please ignore this warning and your request will be processed shortly!

Thank You,

Email Security Team

If the links in the phishing email messages are clicked by the recipients, they will be taken to a phishing website and ask to sign-in. If they attempt to do so, their email account credentials (usernames and passwords) will be sent to the cybercriminals behind the scam. Once the cybercriminals have gotten the stolen credentials, they will gain access to the accounts, hijack them, and use them fraudulently.

Therefore, online users who have received email messages with a link to update their information or make changes to their accounts should always go directly to their email account provider's website and sign into their accounts instead of clicking on the link. Once online users have signed into their accounts, they will be noticed of changes or updates, if there are any. Going directly to their email provider's website and signing in from there is the only guaranteed way of preventing online users from becoming victims of phishing scams.

Online users who have already been tricked by the phishing scam are asked change their passwords immediately before their accounts are hijacked and used fraudulently. If their accounts have already been hijacked by cyber criminals they need to contact their email providers for help.

Please continue reading below.

Advertisements

Please share with us what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Also, check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any.

Remember to forward suspicious, malicious, or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: info@onlinethreatalerts.com

Also, report scams, untrustworthy, or fraudulent websites to us. Tell us why you consider the websites untrustworthy or fraudulent.

If you want to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search engine.

Comments, Questions and Reviews ✍
(Total: 0)

To help protect your privacy, please do not post or remove, your full name, telephone number, email address, username, password, account number, credit card information, home address or other sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews.

↓ Show More of the 0 Comments ↓

Write Your Comment, Question or Review

Write your comment, question or review in the box below to share what you know or to get answers. Please revisit after an hour or more to view reponses or answers to you questions.

Your comment, question or review will be posted as an anonymous user because you are not signed in. Sign-in.