Once cybercriminals have gotten their potential victims’ account credentials (usernames and passwords), they will use it to hijack their Microsoft accounts and use them fraudulently. Therefore, recipients of the phishing email message (see below) who were tricked into clicking on the link within it and have attempted to sign into the phishing or fake website that they were taken, are asked to change their Microsoft account passwords immediately, before they are hijacked and used fraudulently by cybercriminals.
The "You Would be Blocked from Sending and Receiving Emails" Phishing Scam
From: Microsoft.account team <firstname.lastname@example.org>
Sent: Friday, September 22, 2017 10:48 AM
To: Microsoft.account team
Subject: Re: Unsual Sign-in
You would be blocked from sending and receiving emails if not confirmed within 24 hours of receiving this automated mail.
You are required to update through the link below.
Thanks for using Hotmail!
Microsoft users should never click on a link to sign into their accounts, they should instead, go directly to https://account.microsoft.com/ and sign-in from there. If there is something that needs to be done to their accounts, they will be notified. This is will prevent Microsoft users from visiting phishing websites disguised as legitimate Microsoft website that steal account credentials.