»

The "Your Dropbox Account is Closing" Phishing Scam

 +
The "Your Dropbox Account is Closing" Phishing Scam

Would you share this Article with others?

Dropbox users, the fake "Your Dropbox account is closing" email below is a phishing scam, so if you have received, please do not follow the instructions in it. Just delete it. The fake email is being sent by cybercriminals to trick their potential victims into clicking on the link in it. The link goes to a fake Dropbox website where visitors will be asked to sign-in. But, any attempt to sign-in will result in the visitors Dropbox's account credentials (username and password) being sent to the cybercriminals.

Once the cybercriminals have gotten the stolen credentials, they will hijack the accounts and use them fraudulently. Therefore, Dropbox users who have been tricked are asked to change their passwords.

It is recommended that Dropbox users always go to www.dropbox.com and sign into their accounts. Once they have signed into their accounts, they will be notified of important changes and updates, if there are any.

The "Your Dropbox Account Is Closing" Phishing Scam

Your Dropbox account is closing unless you take action...

Thu 9/6/2018 10:56 PM

From: Dropbox™

Hi,

We noticed you haven't used your Dropbox account in over a year. All devices on your account have been signed out in preparation for account closure.

Want to keep your account?

Just sign into Dropbox before September 6, 2018.

Sign in to keep your account

Click the button or go directly to https:///newblessings/secure/management/

What’s going to happen to your account?

Once your account is closed, any remaining files in your account will be subject to deletion.

Recently used Dropbox but still received this email?

If you recently used Dropbox, we’re emailing you about a separate, unused account. Compare the email address on the account you're actively using to the one included in this email. Even the addition or removal of a period ('.') from the address indicates a separate account.

No longer want your account or your data?

We’ll automatically close your account on September 7, 2018. For help with saving your files before your account closes, visit our help center article.

If you have questions or need help with your account, please visit our help center or contact inactives-help@dropbox.com.

Sincerely,

- The Dropbox Team

Note: Some of the names, addresses, email addresses, telephone numbers or other information in samples on this website may have been impersonated or spoofed.

Please share what you know or ask a question about this article by leaving a comment below. Check the comment section below for additional information, if there is any. Remember to forward suspicious, malicious, or phishing email messages to us at the following email address: info@onlinethreatalerts.com. And, report missing persons, scams, untrustworthy, or fraudulent websites to us. Tell us why you consider the websites untrustworthy or fraudulent. Also, to quickly find answers to your questions, use our search engine.

You can help maintain Online Threat Alerts (OTA) by paying a service fee. Click here to make payment.

Comments, Questions, Answers, or Reviews
(Total: 1)

To help protect your privacy, please do not post or remove, your full name, telephone number, email address, username, password, account number, credit card information, home address or other sensitive information in or from your comments, questions, or reviews.

The comments, reviews or answers below do not necessarily reflect the views of Online Threat Alerts.

  • July 13, 2019 at 8:18 AM by info

    "From: Dropbox <no-reply@dropboxmail.com>

    Date: Wed, 10 Jul 2019 14:15

    Subject: We're closing your Dropbox account in 30 days unless you take action

    Hi,

    We noticed you haven't used your Dropbox account in over a year. All devices on your account have been signed out in preparation for account closure.

    Want to keep your account?

    Just sign into Dropbox before August 8, 2019.

    Sign in to keep your account

    Click the button or go directly to https://www.dropbox.com/login

    Your Dropbox account under will automatically be closed unless you log in within the next 30 days.

    What’s going to happen to your account?

    Once your account is closed, any remaining files in your account will be subject to deletion.

    Recently used Dropbox but still received this email?

    If you recently used Dropbox, we’re emailing you about a separate, unused account. Compare the email address on the account you're actively using to the one included in this email. Even the addition or removal of a period ('.') from the address indicates a separate account.

    No longer want your account or your data?

    We’ll automatically close your account on August 8, 2019. For help with saving your files before your account closes, visit our help center article.

    If you have questions or need help with your account, please visit our help center or contact inactives-help@dropbox.com.

    Sincerely,

    - The Dropbox Team"

    Here is another scam.

    remove

 Show More Comments (1)
Write Your Comment, Question, Answer, or Review
Write your comment, question, answer, or review in the box below to share what you know or to get answers. NB: We will use your IP address to display your approximate location to other users.
Your comment, question, answer, or review will be posted as an anonymous user because you are not signed in. Anonymous posts cannot be edited or deleted. Sign-in.

The "Your Dropbox Account is Closing" Phishing Scam